What does a photographer do when he does not take pictures? He still takes pictures. Or he writes. Or he dreams that he writes and photographs. This is the case of Julien Mignot, accustomed to press orders (and collaborator Libération), always by mountains and valleys to meet the needs of its sponsors. Between two utilitarian shots, he steals moments at the time, retains the leak as one tries to capture a dream. Like this thin yellow garden hose that fills a pool of blue-green water, the photographer knows that there is no escape: the drops spinning in the ocean, it is illusory to retain them.
However, all the photographs [of this book] are ramparts to the oblivion and the race of everyday life, moments to oneself, intimate visions. He drew on the “miscellaneous” file on his computer and extracted these photographs taken between 2009 and 2016, which did not find any takers, those that do not play any role, those he kept for him. He shares them today, very simply, in the form of multiple size prints, projection or light strips with twelve slides. The images are indifferently in black and white or in color. They do not have a particular style or underlying idea. In moments of “letting go”, as he says, in these in-between, he delicately grasps hugs, a tree in winter or beautiful cars. […]
Clémentine Mercier

Released
02/07/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
245 x 185
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
96 photos colors and black and white
176 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-453-4
Press review
Photo 1 Fresson head print, size 13 x 19 cm, signed and numbered 12 copies
Photo 2 pigment head print, size 13 x 19 cm, signed and numbered 84 copies
  • 96 Months
    Photo #1
  • 96 Months
    Photo #2

Julien Mignot

Photographe

Julien Mignot (1981) lives in Paris. Self-taught artist and collector. He creates portraits for the press (New York Times, World, Liberation, …) and music (Believe, Wagram, Universal), behind-the-scenes reports of fashion shows or workshops of major brands ( Chanel, Hermes …), at the Philharmonie de Paris (residency since 2010). He commissioned the French part of the Amman Image Festival in Jordan. He created the studio I love what you do! And in 2018, he made his first short film (M. Amalric, D. Bonnard, V. Du Bois). He exhibited his images in Paris (Salon Approach, Leica Gallery, Interval Gallery, Agnès B.), Geneva, Sydney (Festival Heads On).

Azoury Philippe is a French journalist and film critic born in 1971. Collaborator of Cahiers du Cinema since 1998, Philippe Azoury also signed texts for Liberation, Les Inrockuptibles and Vogue1. But also to the biannual journal dedicated to cinema Capricci. He currently works for Obsession, the cultural supplement of the New Observateur1.
He is the author of several books of interviews and monographs cinéasts, and is arguably a writer passionate about cinema as a journalist.

Que fait un photographe quand il ne prend pas de photos ? Il prend tout de même des photos. Ou il écrit. Ou il rêve qu’il écrit et photographie. C’est le cas de Julien Mignot, habitué des commandes de presse (et collaborateur de Libération), toujours par monts et par vaux pour répondre aux besoins de ses commanditaires. Entre deux prises de vue utilitaires, il vole des instants au temps, retient la fuite comme on essaye de capturer un songe. A l’image de ce mince tuyau d’arrosage jaune qui remplit d’un filet d’eau une piscine bleu-vert, le photographe sait qu’il n’y a pas d’échappatoire : les gouttes filent dans l’océan, il est illusoire de les retenir.
Pourtant, toutes les photographies [de ce livre] sont des remparts à l’oubli et à la course du quotidien, des moments à soi, des visions intimes. Il a puisé dans le dossier « divers » de son ordinateur et a extrait ces photographies prises entre 2009 et 2016 et qui ne trouvaient pas preneur, celles qui ne jouent aucun rôle, celles qu’il a gardées pour lui. Il les partage aujourd’hui, très simplement, sous forme de tirages de tailles multiples, de projection ou de réglettes lumineuses avec douze diapositives. Les images sont indifféremment en noir et blanc ou en couleur. Elles n’ont pas un style particulier ou d’idée sous-jacente. Dans les moments de « lâcher prise », comme il dit, dans ces entre-deux, il saisit délicatement des étreintes, un arbre en hiver ou de belles voitures. […]

Clémentine Mercier

Parution
02/07/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
245 x 185
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
96 photographies couleurs et noir et blanc
176 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-453-4
Photo 1 - tirage de tête avec le procédé Fresson, format 13 x 19 cm, signé, numéroté et tiré à 12 exemplaires Photo 2 - tirage de tête pigmentaire, format 13 x 19 cm, signé et numéroté à 84 exemplaires
  • 96 Months
    Photo #1
  • 96 Months
    Photo #2

Julien Mignot

Photographe

Julien Mignot (1981) vit à Paris. Artiste autodidacte et collectionneur. Il réalise à la fois des portraits pour la presse (New-York Times, le Monde, Libération,…) et la musique (Believe, Wagram, Universal), des reportages dans les coulisses des défilés de mode ou les ateliers des grandes marques (Chanel, Hermes…), à la Philharmonie de Paris (ésidence depuis 2010). Il a commissionné la partie française du Festival de l’Image d’Amman en Jordanie. Il a créé le studio J’adore ce que vous faites ! Et réalise en 2018 son premier court métrage (M. Amalric, D. Bonnard, V. Du Bois). Il expose ses images à Paris (Salon Approche, Galerie Leica, Galerie Intervalle, Agnès B.), Genève, Sydney (Festival Heads On).

Philippe Azoury est un journaliste et critique de cinéma français né en 1971. Collaborateur des Cahiers du cinéma depuis 1998, Philippe Azoury a également signé des textes pour Libération, Les Inrockuptibles et Vogue1. Mais aussi à la revue semestrielle Capricci dédiée au cinéma. Il travaille actuellement pour Obsession, le supplément culturel du Nouvel Observateur1.
Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres d’entretiens et monographies de cinéasts, et est sans doute un écrivain passionné par le cinéma autant qu’un journaliste.