Das Schloss

Le château
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss

Das Schloss

Le château

The “Schloss” is the nickname of a castle whose trunks full of old photos and memorabilia, a large building inchauffable Lorraine occupied by the Germans during World War II. The locals still call Imloul Sara and her cousin “granddaughters of the castle.” In this kingdom of drafts still reigns today the grandfather, the patriarch, around which the family of Sara meets.
Das Schloss is an introspective series, a photographic private session: poses sessions development prints, everything is there. Everything starts in the morning mist while Sara awaits its model, “Ms legs,” her aunt, whom she is going to hold the pose for long seconds that the technique requires that the artist has emerged: the calotype, it photographic process invented by Talbot. I only work with people I know, because I know it is very difficult to ask. And, calotype, everything is very slow. Because there was an intimacy, I would go further, they give me more, and the projection of my imagination is easier with those I love. Before that, the image was thought, dreamed. The artist has made preparatory sketches and accessories meticulously searched. Here, for example, she put a black cloth on top of the body of his aunt he disappears into the background. Before his view camera (Toyo-View 4×5), nothing is left to chance.

Released
13/04/2015
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
125 x 170
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
31 photos duotone
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-355-1
Press review

Das Schloss

Le château
* Thirty deluxe edition limited edition accompanied by a signed and numbered original photograph (format print 10 x 15 cm) at the special price of € 150.

* Two different photographs, each taken 15 copies.
  • Das Schloss
    Photo #1
  • Das Schloss
    Photo #2

Das Schloss

Le château

Sara Imloul

Photographe

Born in 1986. Sara Imloul discovered the hat in 2008 and her idea for her first series, “The Black Circus” (2008-2011).
From then on, she developed a photographic process full of old techniques and personal experiments that enabled her to portray her mysterious and dreamlike universe. Working between Paris and Lorraine, the artist pays special attention to prints, unique pieces, hand-crafted.
Fascinated by the carnal relationship between matter and light, it gives a predominant place to the negative sometimes support of collage and drawing. Publishes in 2015 Das Schloss, Le château (Filigranes).

Michel Gaillot is a philosopher, art critic and professor of philosophy at the ESACM (Higher School of Art Clermont Métropole). He is the author of multiple notably Sens – Techno, artistic and political laboratory of this (Editions Dis Voir, Paris, 1998) The place of the offering (Villa du Parc, Annemasse, 2005), and We the people voices (Editions of the Service of Plastic Arts of the City of Venissieux, 2002). He is currently preparing an essay on the thought of the philosopher Jean-Luc Nancy and a book on the subject of the image.

Das Schloss

Le château
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss
  • Das Schloss

Das Schloss

Le château

Le « Schloss », c’est le surnom d’un château dont les malles regorgent de vieilles photos et de souvenirs, une grande bâtisse lorraine inchauffable occupée par les Allemands pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Les gens du coin appellent encore Sara Imloul et sa cousine « les petites-filles du château ». Sur ce royaume de courants d’air règne toujours aujourd’hui le grand-père, le patriarche, autour duquel la famille de Sara se réunit.
Das Schloss est donc une série introspective, un huis clos photographique : des séances de poses au développement des tirages, tout se passe là-bas. Tout commence dans la brume matinale alors que Sara attend son modèle, « madame jambes », sa tante, à qui elle va faire tenir la pose pendant les longues secondes que nécessite la technique que l’artiste s’est imposée : la calotypie, ce procédé photographique inventé par Talbot. Je ne travaille qu’avec des gens que je connais parce que je sais qu’il est très difficile de poser. Et, en calotypie, tout est très lent. Parce qu’il y a une intimité, je me permets d’aller plus loin, ils me donnent plus, et la projection de mon imaginaire est plus facile avec ceux que j’aime. Avant cela, l’image a été pensée, rêvée. L’artiste a réalisé des esquisses préparatoires puis cherché les accessoires avec minutie. Ici, par exemple, elle a posé un tissu noir sur le haut du corps de sa tante pour qu’il disparaisse dans le décor. Devant sa chambre photographique (Toyo-View 4×5), rien n’est donc laissé au hasard.

Parution
13/04/2015
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
125 x 170
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
31 photographies en bichromie
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-355-1
Revue de presse

Das Schloss

Le château
Trente tirage de tête* en édition limitée accompagné d’une photographie originale signée et numérotée (format tirage 10 x 15 cm) au prix spécial de 150 €. * Deux photographies différentes, tirées chacune en 15 exemplaires.
  • Das Schloss
    Photo #1
  • Das Schloss
    Photo #2

Sara Imloul

Photographe

Née en 1986. C’est en découvrant la calotypie en 2008 que Sara Imloul a l’idée de sa première série, « Le cirque noir » (2008-2011).

Elle développe dès lors un processus photographique empreint de techniques anciennes et d’expérimentations personnelles qui lui permet de mettre en image son univers mystérieux et onirique. Travaillant entre Paris et la Lorraine, l’artiste accorde un soin particulier aux tirages, pièces uniques, ouvragées à la main.

Fascinée par la relation charnelle entre matière et lumière, elle accorde une place prédominante au négatif parfois support de collage et dessin. Publie en 2015 Das Schloss, Le château (Filigranes).

Michel Gaillot est philosophe, critique d’art et professeur de philosophie à l’ESACM (École supérieure d’art de Clermont Métropole). Il est l’auteur notamment de Sens multiple – La techno, un laboratoire artistique et politique du présent (Éditions Dis Voir, Paris, 1998), de Le lieu en offrande (Villa du Parc, Annemasse, 2005), et de Nous, peuple des voix (Editions du Service des arts plastiques de la Ville des Vénissieux, 2002). Il prépare actuellement un essai sur la pensée du philosophe Jean-Luc Nancy et un livre sur la question de l’image.