Heading West

  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West

Heading West

Heading West is a critical accolade as much as a travel book or synopsis of an upcoming film, in which I question our fascination with the American West and its clichés. It is the result of work done during an artist residency in Sedona, Arizona during the summer of 2017.

On previous travels, I had already had the opportunity to confront the landscapes of the Great American West, and to experience the strange feeling of entering head-on into THE cinematographic fiction. A feeling that is not reserved to this part of the United States but acts with even greater force in the enormous dimensions of this particular environment.

Since there is, of course, no American fiction in and of itself, but only what comes to us through film and books, it is a very personal American fiction, and in the end very French, which I sought to describe in this book; fifty photographs and several texts interact in a circular manner, so as to circumscribe this mental and physical geography.

 

Book limited to 100 copies, excluding trade.
Exceptional subscription offer 80 € (after 14 May 120 €)

 

Released
25/05/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 260
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
50 photos colors
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-450-3

Heading West

Each book (print 100 copies) is accompanied by a photographic print numbered and signed by Frédéric Ramade.
* Choice possible between twelve photographs, format 18 x 24 cm.
  • Heading West
    Photo #1
  • Heading West
    Photo #2
  • Heading West
    Photo #3
  • Heading West
    Photo #4
  • Heading West
    Photo #5
  • Heading West
    Photo #6
  • Heading West
    Photo #7
  • Heading West
    Photo #8
  • Heading West
    Photo #9
  • Heading West
    Photo #10
  • Heading West
    Photo #11
  • Heading West
    Photo #12

Heading West

Frédéric Ramade

Auteur, Cinéaste, Photographe

After beginning in the field of visual arts, where he explored different media: painting, photography, video, performance and installations, Frédéric Ramade turned to filmmaking.

His films, a mix of documentary and fiction, question – with humor – the notion of identity, its relation to our environment, the beliefs and stereotypes that are attached to it. Whether in the world of the suburbs in Ode Pavillonnaire (2008), which led to the publication of a book-dvd (Editions Filigranes); that of history and its setting in fiction in La Libération de Chinon  (2010); or even our need for exotic belief in La Voie Rouge (2015), Ramade evokes a singular point of view in which laughter accompanies a critical will whose political significance is always present.

Although film is his main medium of expression, Frédéric Ramade continues to draw and make photographs. His work advances through the interaction between one practice and another. Drawings and photographs come into play in film projects which, in return, lead him to explore filmically new plastic paths and new territories.

Heading West

  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West
  • Heading West

Heading West

Heading West est un éloge critique autant qu’un livre de voyage ou le synopsis d’un film à venir, à travers lequel j’interroge notre fascination pour l’Ouest américain et ses clichés. Il est le fruit du travail que j’ai réalisé durant une résidence d’artistes à Sedona, en Arizona, durant l’été 2017.

Lors de voyages précédents, j’avais déjà eu l’occasion de me confronter aux paysages du Grand Ouest américain, et d’éprouver ce sentiment étrange d’entrer de plain-pied dans LA fiction cinématographique. Un sentiment qui n’est pas réservé à cette partie des États-Unis mais agit avec plus de force encore dans cet environnement aux dimensions énormes.

Comme il n’y a bien sûr pas de Fiction américaine en soi, mais uniquement ce que l’on s’en construit par le biais des souvenirs de films et de lecture, c’est une fiction américaine toute personnelle, et au final très française, que j’ai cherché à mettre en scène au travers de ce livre, qui recueille une cinquantaine de photographies et un ensemble de textes qui se répondent de façon circulaire, comme pour circonscrire cette géographie aussi bien mentale que physique.

 

Ouvrage limité à 100 exemplaires, hors commerce.

Offre exceptionnelle de souscription 80 € (après le 30 avril 120 €)

Parution
25/05/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 260
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
50 photographies en couleurs
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-450-3

Heading West

Chaque ouvrage (tirage 100 exemplaires) est accompagné d’un tirage photographique numéroté et signé par Frédéric Ramade. * Choix possible entre douze photographies, format 18 x 24 cm. Tirage sans cadre.
  • Heading West
    Photo #1
  • Heading West
    Photo #2
  • Heading West
    Photo #3
  • Heading West
    Photo #4
  • Heading West
    Photo #5
  • Heading West
    Photo #6
  • Heading West
    Photo #7
  • Heading West
    Photo #8
  • Heading West
    Photo #9
  • Heading West
    Photo #10
  • Heading West
    Photo #11
  • Heading West
    Photo #12

Heading West

Frédéric Ramade

Auteur, Cinéaste, Photographe

Après des débuts dans le champ des arts plastiques, où il a exploré différents média – peinture, photographie, vidéo -, réalisé des performances et installations, Frédéric Ramade s’est orienté vers la réalisation de films.

Ses productions, aux marges du documentaire et de la fiction, questionnent avec humour la notion d’identité, les rapports qu’elle entretient avec notre environnement, les croyances et les stéréotypes qui y sont attachés. Qu’il s’agisse du monde des banlieues pavillonnaires dans Ode pavillonnaire (2008), qui a donné lieu à la publication d’un livre-dvd aux éditions Filigranes, de celui de l’histoire et de sa mise en fiction dans La Libération de Chinon (2010), ou encore de notre besoin de croyance exotique dans La Voie Rouge (2015), Frédéric Ramade porte à notre regard un questionnement singulier où le rire vient soutenir une volonté critique dont la portée politique n’est jamais très éloignée.

Bien que le film soit son médium principal d’expression, Frédéric Ramade continue de pratiquer le dessin et la photographie. C’est par la circulation et les retours d’une pratique à l’autre qu’il fait avancer son travail. Dessins et photographies viennent nourrir des projets filmiques qui en retour l’amènent à explorer filmiquement de nouvelles voies plastiques et de nouveaux territoires.