La prolongation du bonheur

Autoportraits de famille #2
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur

La prolongation du bonheur

Autoportraits de famille #2

“Photographing is for me an act of love and a behavior in the face of time that is intimately linked to my meeting with Colette in 1991. I photograph by desire and need by choosing the moments that I want to keep the memory, taking the images of our lives to with an amateur autofocus camera in the palm of my hand Can not look through the viewfinder, I often frame with the uncertain feeling of cutting the space in the right place.Sure of the moment I’m less of the moment: I then have to take several shots of the same scene.The fact of framing without looking and never deciding where the focus will be made is one of the most magical constants of photography. Chance mingles with the desire and the pleasure of the moment which must be kept track of.
Photography is certainly the art that can be said to be the most tempting. The brevity of the shot making the immediate repetition of the photographic act always possible often plunges the photographer into doubt and uncertainty as to the image obtained. Try again, always and again. The doubt will leave only once the film developed, facing the moments seized successful. Looking at my contact sheets gives me a feeling of total rediscovery of the moment lived, and at that moment I see very precisely what I perceived more than actually seen. “G.G.

Released
11/09/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
150 x 210
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
112 photos duotone
156 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-441-1
Press review

La prolongation du bonheur

Autoportraits de famille #2
A leading edition accompanies this edition including the book and a photograph * in the format 14 x 20 cm, drawn, numbered and signed by Guillaume Geneste. * Photograph of your choice in the book drawn to single copy.
  • La prolongation du bonheur
    Photo #1

Guillaume Geneste

Auteur, Photographe

Guillaume Geneste is founder of the laboratory La Chambre Noire in Paris opened since 1996. He draws the images of many photographers authors and practices film and digital processes. In parallel with his activity as a shooter, he photographed his wife Colette and his two children Chloé and Gabriel as “family self-portraits” where he performed with them at their side.

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Plossu Bernard, born in South Vietnam in 1945, he grew up surrounded by photographs of the desert taken by his father when he went skiing on the dunes of the Sahara in 1937 with Roger Frisian-Roche. Modesty, sensuality, emotion, joy, here is what is the “sap” that already permeate the images of the self that landed in Mexico in 1965 and 1967 to join his grandparents. Travel as a Mexican issue 15 years later its editor Claude Nori. A book that, as the creator of Ed. Contrejour has become a sort of bible for a generation suddenly uninhibited by his freedom of tone and its intimate and poetic vision.

La prolongation du bonheur

Autoportraits de famille #2
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur
  • La prolongation du bonheur

La prolongation du bonheur

Autoportraits de famille #2

« Photographier est pour moi un acte amoureux et un comportement face au temps qui passe intimement lié à ma rencontre avec Colette en 1991. Je photographie par envie et besoin en choisissant les moments dont je veux garder le souvenir, prenant les images de notre vie à bout de bras avec un appareil photo amateur autofocus qui tient dans le creux de ma main. Ne pouvant regarder à travers le viseur, je cadre bien souvent avec le sentiment incertain de découper l’espace au bon endroit. Sûr du moment je le suis moins de l’instant : il me faut alors prendre plusieurs clichés de la même scène. Le fait de cadrer sans regarder et de ne jamais décider de là où la mise au point sera faite font du hasard une des constantes les plus magiques de la photographie. Le hasard se mêlant au désir et au plaisir du moment dont il faut garder la trace.
La photographie est certainement l’art dont on peut le plus dire qu’il se tente. La brièveté de la prise rendant l’immédiate répétition de l’acte photographique toujours possible plonge souvent le photographe dans le doute et l’incertitude quant à l’image obtenue. Tenter à nouveau, toujours et encore. Le doute ne partira qu’une fois le film développé, face aux instants saisis réussis. Regarder mes planches de contact me procure alors un sentiment de redécouverte totale du moment vécu et je vois à ce moment-là très précisément ce que j’avais plus perçu que réellement vu. » G.G.

Parution
11/09/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
150 x 210
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
112 photographies en bichromie
156 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-441-1
Commander

Guillaume Geneste

Auteur, Photographe

Guillaume Geneste est fondateur du laboratoire La Chambre Noire à Paris ouvert depuis 1996. Il tire les images de nombreux photographes auteurs et pratique les procédés argentique et numérique. Parallèlement à son activité de tireur il photographie sous forme “d’autoportraits de famille“ sa femme Colette et ses deux enfants Chloé et Gabriel où il se met en scène avec eux à leurs côtés.

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Bernard Plossu, né au Sud-Vietnam en 1945, il a grandi entouré des photographies de désert prises par son père lorsqu’il partit faire du ski sur les dunes du Sahara en 1937 avec Roger Frison-Roche. Pudeur, sensualité, émotion, gaieté, voici quelle est la « sève » qui irrigue déjà les images de cet autodidacte qui débarque au Mexique en 1965 et 1967 pour y rejoindre ses grands-parents. Un Voyage mexicain que publiera 15 ans plus tard son  éditeur Claude Nori. Un livre qui, selon le créateur des Éd. Contrejour, est devenu une sorte de « bible pour toute une génération » soudain désinhibée par sa liberté de ton et sa vision intime et poétique.