Melos is a book between darkness and hope. The image above these lines should alert the attentive viewer. On this old postcard, annotated by the sender marked “Far Eastern and sad hello.” While geographical annotations attest to the complexity of the region.
This incipit seems to sum up the view reached by Guillaume Lebrun-journey that led from Istanbul to Thessaloniki via neighboring Bulgaria. These places are one of the crucibles of European and Mediterranean civilizations. But they are also an area where identities, languages, nationalities, religions have continued to object, trying to hold sway over each other.
The unity of place, the community of destiny are reflected in the portraits of young people has drawn the photographer. Impossible for me to determine whether the girl or boy are Greek, Bulgarian and Turkish.
The fracture, it is evident in the landscape as in the detail views. It often results in the work of Guillaume Lebrun by the inability to see, which is opposed, of course, the desire to see. The photographer but also that of the viewer. Desire that counteracts the author. For this, it deploys various strategies. That the veil first. As this red curtain that leaves hardly reflected the view from a hotel room, or the striped window that hides the beauty of Hagia Sophia, or the rain that erases the contours of the Bosphorus.
[…]

Rémi Coignet

Released
15/03/2016
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 260
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
62 photos colors and blanck and white
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-382-7
Press review
36 special edition numbered accompanied by a photographic print signed by Guillaume Lebrun.
* Selectable between three photographs, each taken 12 copies: print 24 x 16.5 cm.
  • Melos
    Photo #1
  • Melos
    Photo #2
  • Melos
    Photo #3

Guillaume Lebrun

Photographe

Photographer, member of the journal The Eyes and teacher, I live in Paris and works at home and abroad. My photographic work is inspired by the history of Europe, literature and film. From England to Turkey, via Greece and the Balkans, I traveled the continent in search of my own European identity.

Critic and editor, Rémi Coignet launched Books and pictures in 2008. It contributes to Polka Magazine and is on the editorial board of the journal The Eyes. His writings have been published in numerous national and international magazines such as Les Inrockuptibles, The Photobook Review, Ahorn or The Magazine of Bibliophile. In 2014 he published the book Conversations, a collection of his interviews with photographers.

Humanist intellectual adventurer, unconditional love of England, scoured Mexico’s America to Alaska, ran several continents from Beijing to Zanzibar, before succumbing to the rough charm of the Balkans. He is the author of a travelogue.

Mélos est un livre entre noirceur et espoir. L’image qui précède ces lignes devrait alerter le regardeur attentif. Sur cette carte postale ancienne, annotée par l’expéditeur, est indiqué « Lointain et triste bonjour d’Orient ». Tandis que des annotations géographiques attestent de la complexité de la région.

Cet incipit semble résumer le point de vue auquel est parvenu Guillaume Lebrun au terme du voyage qui l’a conduit d’Istanbul à Thessalonique en passant par la Bulgarie voisine. Ces lieux forment l’un des creusets des civilisations européennes et méditerranéennes. Mais ils sont aussi une zone où les identités, les langues, les nationalités, les religions n’ont cessé de s’opposer, de tenter de prendre l’ascendant les unes sur les autres.

L’unité de lieu, la communauté de destin se retrouvent dans les portraits de jeunes gens qu’a dressés le photographe. Impossible pour moi de déterminer si cette fille ou ce garçon sont grecs, bulgares ou turcs.

La fracture, elle, est manifeste dans les paysages comme dans les vues de détails. Elle se traduit souvent dans l’œuvre de Guillaume Lebrun par l’impossibilité de voir, qui s’oppose, bien entendu, au désir de voir. Celui du photographe mais aussi celui du regardeur. Désir que l’auteur contrecarre. Pour cela, il déploie diverses stratégies. Celle du voile d’abord. Tel ce rideau rouge qui laisse difficilement transparaître la vue depuis une chambre d’hôtel, ou cette vitre rayée qui masque la beauté de Sainte-Sophie, ou encore cette pluie qui efface les contours du Bosphore. […]

Rémi Coignet

Parution
15/03/2016
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 260
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
62 photographies en couleur et noir et blanc
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-382-7
36 tirages de tête* numérotés accompagnés d’un tirage photographique signé par Guillaume Lebrun. * Choix possible entre trois photographies, chacune tirée à 12 exemplaires : tirages format 24 x 16,5 cm.
  • Melos
    Photo #1
  • Melos
    Photo #2
  • Melos
    Photo #3

Guillaume Lebrun

Photographe

Photographe, membre de la revue The Eyes et enseignant, je vis à Paris et travaille ici et ailleurs. Mon travail photographique trouve son inspiration dans l’histoire de l’Europe, la littérature et le cinéma. De l’Angleterre à la Turquie, en passant par la Grèce et les Balkans, je sillonne le continent à la recherche de ma propre identité européenne.

Critique et éditeur, Rémi Coignet a lancé Des livres et des photos en 2008. Il contribue au magazine Polka et est membre du comité éditorial de la revue The Eyes. Ses écrits ont été publiés dans de nombreux magazines nationaux et internationaux dont Les Inrockuptibles, The Photobook Review, Ahorn ou Le Magazine du Bibliophile. En 2014 il a publié le livre Conversations, recueil de ses entretiens avec des photographes.

Baroudeur intellectuel humaniste, amoureux inconditionnel de l’Angleterre, a écumé l’Amérique du Mexique à l’Alaska, couru plusieurs continents de Beijing à Zanzibar, avant de succomber au charme rugueux des Balkans. Il est l’auteur d’un récit de voyage.