“Immersed in an environment that he generally maintains at a distance, André Mérian gives a representation of the landscape through a reading of architecture and the environment reduced to a set of signs and objects.
Never Mind goes beyond the urban expansion, but nevertheless evokes the urbanization and the emergence of buildings represented by a staging of books or checkered earthenware tiles. In the spaces photographed natural elements remain: a cascade of water, arid vegetation, bamboos, trees but the vegetation is cut by a road become a no man’s land covered with signs and objects abandoned, bamboos are sectioned , The trees are dried or masked by installations suggesting their disappearance. If Never Mind’s stake is to state and denounce the dislocation of a world, the great skill of André Mérian is to signify its collapse without exposing its ruin.
Isabelle Tessier

Coproducer
Zoème - CIAC Château de Carros
Released
30/06/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 220
Anglais/Français
37 photos colors
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-422-0
Buy

André Mérian

Photographe

André Merian was born in Brittany, he lives and works in Marseille. His photographic work is regularly exhibited in France and abroad (personal and collective exhibitions), and are part of public and private collections. Various monographs devoted to it.
André Merian is represented by the
galerie Les Douches à Paris..
Isabelle Tessier
Director of the Vitré Art library, Isabelle Tessier curates exhibitions in charge of a public collection of contemporary art and has written many texts for monographic catalogues and books, in particular on contemporary photography.

« Immergé dans un milieu qu’il tient généralement à distance, André Mérian donne une représentation du paysage par une lecture de l’architecture et de l’environnement réduite à un ensemble de signes et d’objets.
Never Mind dépasse le constat de l’expansion urbaine mais n’évoque pas moins l’urbanisation et l’émergence d’immeubles figurées par une mise en scène de livres ou par des carreaux de faïence en damier. Dans les espaces photographiés des éléments naturels demeurent : une cascade d’eau, une végétation aride, des bambous, des arbres mais la végétation est découpée par une route devenue un no man’s land couverte de signes et d’objets délaissés, les bambous sont sectionnés, les arbres sont desséchés ou masqués par des installations laissant présager leur disparition. Si l’enjeu de Never Mind est d’énoncer et de dénoncer la dislocation d’un monde, la grande habileté d’André Mérian est de signifier son effondrement sans en exposer la ruine. »
Isabelle Tessier

Co-production
Zoème - CIAC Château de Carros
Parution
30/06/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 220
Anglais/Français
37 photographies en couleur
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-422-0
Commander

André Mérian

Photographe

André Mérian est né en Bretagne, il vit et travaille à Marseille. Ses travaux photographiques sont régulièrement exposés en France et à l’étranger (expositions personnelles et collectives), et font parties de collections publiques et privées. Différentes monographies lui sont consacrées.
André Mérian est représenté par la galerie Les Douches à Paris.
Isabelle Tessier
Directrice de l’artothèque Vitré. Commissaire d’expositions
en charge d’une collection publique d’art contemporain,
elle est auteur de textes pour des catalogues monographiques et ouvrages plus particulièrement consacrés à la photographie contemporaine.