The origin of this work there was, there is always a fascination with the United States. A fascination that begins with the image. Photographic images first, inevitably. American photography is exceedingly rich, many even see the birthplace of modern photography, and she had a certain importance on my report to the medium. Moving pictures as well. Those of the New Hollywood films that depict so well the energy, youth and cons60s/70s culture peculiar to the years in America. Images, even with the universe of realistic paintings of Edward Hopper or popular iconography revisited by Jasper Johns. A fascination for America must add visual literature, which has been a source at least as important to the construction of the American imagination. John Fante, Truman Capote, Raymond Carver and many others have also engraved in me images, mental this time.
I chose to photograph the mundane, the everyday life of contemporary America. I take samples of humanity, and if it happens I use the anecdotal, or spectacular, it is to overcome them by searching for resonances with concepts deeper, more universal.
Released
31/10/2012
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 230
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
66 photos colors
140 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-245-5
Press review
This book was printed 15 copies numbered head accompanied by an original print * format 15 x 21 cm, signed and numbered by Richard Pak.

* Three different photographs (taken every 5 copies.
An email will be sent to you asking the choice of the image.
  • Pursuit
    Photo #1
  • Pursuit
    Photo #2
  • Pursuit
    Photo #3

Richard Pak

Photographe

French artist born in 1972, Richard Pak practice a photograph sensitive to particular interest to his contemporaries in the private or public sphere. Not hesitating to move from a documentary-like style to a serial, systematic approach, as well as combining writing and video to his photographic research, Richard Pak navigates between representation of the real and the fictional evocation.
Having lived and worked for five years in London, he made many visits to the United States between 2003 and 2009 to achieve the Pursuit series, which is co-published the monograph by Journal and Filigranes in 2012. Winner of the Residence The Photographic Eye urban, it does the job The Brothers-like in 2014, published by Watermarks.
His work has been exhibited in France and abroad, including: the Château d’Eau (Toulouse), Le Pavillon Populaire (Montpellier), Atlantic Center of Photography (Brest), Stieglitz19 Gallery (Belgium), PhotoPhnomPenh (Cambodia ), Noorderlicht Photofestival (Netherlands), Les Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie (Arles), Singular Images Festival (Sète).
His works are part of private and public collections including those of the National Library of France, the Château d’Eau, The Atlantic Centre of Photography. It is represented in Belgium by the Stieglitz19 gallery.

A l’origine de ce travail il y avait, il y a toujours, la fascination pour les États-Unis. Une fascination qui passe d’abord par l’image. Des images photographiques en premier lieu, inévitablement. La photographie américaine est excessivement riche, beaucoup y voient même le berceau de la photographie moderne, et elle a eu une importance certaine sur mon rapport à ce médium. Des images cinématographiques aussi. Celles des films du Nouvel Hollywood qui peignent si bien l’énergie, la jeunesse et la contre-culture propres aux années 60s/70s en Amérique. Des images, encore, avec l’univers réaliste des tableaux d’Edward Hopper ou encore l’iconographie populaire revisitée par Jasper Johns. A cette fascination pour une Amérique visuelle il faut ajouter la littérature, qui aura été une source au moins aussi importante à la construction de cet imaginaire américain. John Fante, Truman Capote, Raymond Carver et tant d’autres ont eux aussi gravé en moi des images, mentales cette fois.
J’ai choisi de photographier le banal, le quotidien d’une Amérique contemporaine. Je prélève des échantillons d’humanité, et s’il arrive que j’utilise l’anecdotique, ou le spectaculaire, c’est pour les dépasser en cherchant des résonances avec des concepts plus profonds, plus universels.
Parution
31/10/2012
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 230
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
66 photographies en couleur
140 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-245-5
Revue de presse
De cet ouvrage il a été tiré 15 exemplaires de tête numérotés accompagnés d’un tirage original* format 15 x 21 cm, numéroté et signé par Richard Pak.

* Trois photographies différentes (tirée chacune en 5 exemplaires.
Un mail vous sera envoyé pour vous demandez le choix de l'image.
  • Pursuit
    Photo #1
  • Pursuit
    Photo #2
  • Pursuit
    Photo #3

Richard Pak

Photographe

Artiste français né en 1972, Richard Pak pratique une photographie du sensible pour s’intéresser notamment à ses contemporains dans la sphère privée ou publique. N’hésitant pas à passer d’un style proche du documentaire à une approche sérielle et systématique, ainsi qu’en associant l’écriture et la vidéo à ses recherches photographiques, Richard Pak navigue entre représentation du réel et évocation du fictionnel.
Après avoir vécu et travaillé cinq ans à Londres, il effectue de nombreux séjours aux Etats-Unis entre 2003 et 2009 pour réaliser la série Pursuit, dont la monographie est coéditée par Journal et Filigranes en 2012. Lauréat de la Résidence Photographique de L’Œil Urbain, il réalise le travail Les Frères-pareils en 2014, publié par Filigranes.
Son travail a été exposé en France et à l’étranger, dont : Le Château d’Eau (Toulouse), Le Pavillon Populaire (Montpellier), Le Centre Atlantique de la Photographie (Brest), Galerie Stieglitz19 (Belgique), PhotoPhnomPenh (Cambodge), Noorderlicht Photofestival (Pays Bas), Les Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie (Arles), Festival Images Singulières (Sète).
Ses œuvres font parties de collections publiques et privées dont celles de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Le Château d’Eau, Le Centre Atlantique de la Photographie. Il est représenté en Belgique par la galerie Stieglitz19.