Spud

Bean - Fifer - Mutt - Poge
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud

Spud

Bean - Fifer - Mutt - Poge

During his residency in Béthune, Brian Griffin chose to devote his time to one of the largest potato fries factories in Europe: McCain and because of Bethune’s past as a battlefield, to history of the First World War.

On the other hand, 2018 marks the centenary of the end of the war, and it turns out that Labanque is located in Bethune, the exact place where British soldiers were stationed during 1914-1918. This gave him the idea to work of potential resonances between England and the north of France. Soon, Brian was arrested by the number of deaths during the First World War, on the Western Front: 700,000 in Verdun, one million during the Battle of the Somme, closer to Bethune, during which the English suffered the greatest number of casualties in a single day, and this for the entire history of the British Army. The idea that the blood, the bones, the members of the soldiers were present in the soil where the potatoes that nourish us grow gave rise to a project that questions the territory, the history and the war, in a tenuous way . The exhibition, on the other hand, is built on the theme of a Cluedo game and refers to the Twin Peaks series, whose interest in irrationality and postmodernism it shares.

 

Conversation between Anne Braybon, Federica Chiocchetti, François Hébel, Brian Griffin and Valentine Umansky, recorded in Paris, November, 2017.

 

Brian Griffin in residence at Labanque in Bethune has worked and observed his perspective on the Northern region, which is, in a way, similar to the one in which he grew up and which is called the Black Country in England both from the point of view of the landscape and from a common working past.
SPUD indeed, it is a term “vulgar” which means potato.
It is also one of the nicknames given to soldiers during the First World War (Spud-Mutt).

 

Exhibition Labanque at Bethune from March 17 – July 22, 2018

Coproducer
Labanque - Gost
Released
05/04/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 235
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
135 photos colors and black and white
224 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-446-6
Buy

Brian Griffin

Photographe

Brian Griffin born in 1948 in Birmingham, in the heart of the Black Country (UK), he now lives and works in London. He worked for a few years for the British Steel Corporation before starting his photography studies at Manchester Polytechnic. Subsequently, he collaborates with various magazines as well as for the record industry and public and private commissions. In 1987, he was exhibited for the first time at the Rencontres d’Arles. Throughout his career, he has independently published several books and artist’s books. His work is now part of the collections of the Victoria & Albert Museum in London, from the Museum Folkwang in Essen.

Independent and critical Curator, It Worked for several years with Specialty galleries photography.

Spud

Bean - Fifer - Mutt - Poge
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud
  • Spud

Spud

Bean - Fifer - Mutt - Poge

Durant sa résidence à Béthune, Brian Griffin a choisi de consacrer son temps à l’une des plus grandes usines de pommes de terre frites d’Europe : McCain et du fait du passé de Béthune en tant que champ de bataille, à l’histoire de la Première Guerre mondiale.

D’autre part, 2018 marque le centenaire de la fin de la guerre or il s’avère que Labanque se situe à Béthune, l’endroit exact où les soldats britanniques étaient postés pendant 1914-1918. Ceci lui a donné l’idée de travailler de potentielles résonances entre l’Angleterre et le nord de la France. Très tôt, Brian a été interpellé par le nombre de morts durant la Première Guerre mondiale, sur le front Ouest : 700.000 à Verdun, un million pendant la Bataille de la Somme, plus proche de Béthune, pendant laquelle les Anglais ont subi le plus grand nombre de perte en une seule journée, et ce pour toute l’histoire de l’armée britannique. Cette idée que le sang, les os, les membres des soldats étaient présents dans le sol où poussent les pommes de terre qui nous nourrissent a donné lieu à un projet qui questionne le territoire, l’histoire et la guerre, d’une manière ténue. L’exposition, quant à elle, est construite sur le motif d’un jeu de Cluedo et fait référence à la série Twin Peaks, dont elle partage l’intérêt pour l’irrationnel et le postmodernisme.

 

Conversation entre Anne Braybon, Federica Chiocchetti, François Hébel, Brian Griffin  et Valentine Umansky, enregistrée à Paris, novembre, 2017.

 

Brian Griffin en résidence à Labanque à Béthune a travaillé et observé son point de vue sur la région du Nord, qui est, d’une certaine manière, similaire à celle dans laquelle il a grandi et que l’on appelle le Black Country en Angleterre tant du point de vue du paysage que d’un passé ouvrier commun.
SPUD en effet, c’est un terme « vulgaire » qui signifie pomme de terre.
C’est aussi l’un des surnoms donnés aux soldats durant la Première Guerre mondiale (Spud-Mutt).

 

Exposition Labanque à Béthune du 17 mars – 22 juillet 2018

Co-production
Labanque - Gost
Parution
05/04/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 235
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
135 photographies couleurs et noir et blanc
224 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-446-6
Commander

Brian Griffin

Photographe

Brian Griffin né en 1948 à Birmingham, au coeur du Black Country (Royaume-Uni), il vit et travaille désormais à Londres. Il travaille pendant quelques années pour la British Steel Corporation avant de débuter ses études de photographie à l’École polytechnique de Manchester. Par la suite, il collabore avec divers magazines ainsi que pour l’industrie du disque et des commandes, publiques ou privées. En 1987, il est exposé pour la première fois aux Rencontres d’Arles. Tout au long de sa carrière, il publie de manière indépendante plusieurs ouvrages et livres d’artiste. Son travail fait désormais partie des collections du Victoria & Albert Museum à Londres, du Museum Folkwang à Essen.

Commissaire indépendante et critique, elle travaille depuis plusieurs années auprès de galeries spécialisées en photographie.