Swimming in the black sea

Swimming in the black sea

In Turkey, the cardinal points are indicated by colors: Ak, white for the South Kara, black for the north. Thus, the Mediterranean Sea, White Sea, turns into Black Sea at the Bosphorus Strait. And it is precisely here that Philippe Guionie chosen as a starting point for Swimming in the Black Sea. Conducted between 2004 and 2012, the series was inspired by Kéraban-le-Stubborn, a Jules Verne novel recounting the tribulations of a wealthy Turkish merchant, Kéraban refuses to pay a tax imposed by the sultan unexpectedly to cross the Bosphorus and Constantinople decided to join by going around the Black Sea.This romantic story is an underlying theme in this contemporary take on the Black Sea. Photographer gradually detaches to form a subjective visual poem with bright colors. From the nearby Mediterranean, pierce the sweet life and the southern accents, but this “wandering around a sea that is hardly seen” is so subtle that it is equally at history with a capital H the more contemporary events.
The photographs in Georgia were conducted in 2012 as part of a photographic residence established by the Tbilisi Photo Festival.

Published in collaboration with the Polka Gallery (Paris)
Released
03/11/2014
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 240
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
51 photos colors
64 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-328-5
Press review

Swimming in the black sea

30 head editions accompanied by a drawing, 16 x 16 cm, photo (optional) shot each in 10 copies, signed by Philippe Guionie.
  • Swimming in the black sea
    Photo #1
  • Swimming in the black sea
    Photo #2
  • Swimming in the black sea
    Photo #3

Swimming in the black sea

Philippe Guionie

Photographe

A historian by training, Philippe Guionie claims a documentary photography around the themes of memory and identity constructions. His photographic premise: put faces on human memories that do not.
Author of several books – “Former African fighters,” “A Little Piece of Heaven” (The Imaginayres / diaphanous, 2006), “Africa America” ​​(diaphanous, 2006) & “Swimming in the black sea” (Watermark Publishing, 2014) – personal topics are presented in galleries and festivals in France and abroad. Winner of several photographic awards including the Roger Price Pic 2008 for the series “the rifleman and the three rivers”, he is responsible semiotics courses of the image of photography and multimedia training school (ETAP) to Toulouse and manages numerous workshops in France (Rencontres d’Arles) and abroad. Myop member of the agency since 2009, Philippe Guionie is represented by the Polka gallery in Paris. In 2015, he curated the exhibition “Koudjina in legacies” to Encounters African Photography in Bamako and director of residence 1 + 2 in Toulouse linked to two other European cities (1plus2.fr).

Andreï Kourkov est né en Russie en 1961 et vit à Kiev. Il est aujourd’hui un écrivain ukrainien de langue russe. Très doué pour les langues (il en parle sept), il débute sa carrière littéraire pendant son service militaire alors qu’il est gardien de prison à Odessa… Son premier roman, Le Pingouin, remporte un succès international. Son œuvre est aujourd’hui traduite en 36 langues.

Swimming in the black sea

Swimming in the black sea

En Turquie, les points cardinaux sont désignés par des couleurs : Ak, le blanc pour le Sud, Kara, le noir pour le Nord. Ainsi, la mer Méditerranée, mer blanche, se mue en mer Noire au niveau du détroit du Bosphore. Et, c’est précisément ce lieu que Philippe Guionie choisit comme point de départ pour Swimming in the Black Sea. Réalisée entre 2004 et 2012, cette série s’inspire de Kéraban-le-Têtu, un roman de Jules Verne racontant les tribulations d’un riche négociant turc, Kéraban qui refuse d’acquitter une taxe imposée inopinément par le sultan pour la traversée du Bosphore et décide de rejoindre Constantinople en faisant le tour de la mer Noire.Cette histoire romanesque est en filigrane de ce regard contemporain sur la mer noire. Le photographe s’en détache progressivement pour constituer un poème visuel subjectif aux couleurs acidulées. De la Méditerranée voisine, percent la douceur de vivre et les accents du Sud, mais cette « errance autour d’une mer que l’on ne voit presque pas » est si subtile qu’elle convoque aussi bien l’histoire avec un grand H que l’actualité plus contemporaine.
Les photographies en Géorgie ont été réalisées en 2012 dans le cadre d’une résidence photographique mise en place par le Tbilisi Photo Festival.
Ouvrage publié en collaboration avec la galerie Polka (Paris)
Parution
03/11/2014
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 240
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
51 photographies en couleurs
64 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-328-5
Revue de presse

Swimming in the black sea

30 éditions de tête accompagnées d’un tirage, 16 x 16 cm, photographique (au choix) tiré chacune à 10 exemplaires, signé par Philippe Guionie.
  • Swimming in the black sea
    Photo #1
  • Swimming in the black sea
    Photo #2
  • Swimming in the black sea
    Photo #3

Swimming in the black sea

Philippe Guionie

Photographe

Historien de formation, Philippe Guionie revendique une photographie documentaire autour des thèmes de la mémoire et des constructions identitaires. Son postulat photographique : poser des visages sur des mémoires humaines qui n’en ont pas.
Auteur de plusieurs ouvrages – “Anciens combattants africains”, “Un petit coin de paradis” (Les Imaginayres/Diaphane, 2006), “Africa America” (Diaphane, 2006) & “Swimming in the black sea” (Filigranes éditions, 2014) – ses sujets personnels sont présentés dans des galeries et festivals, en France et à l’étranger. Lauréat de plusieurs prix photographiques dont le Prix Roger Pic 2008 pour la série “le tirailleur et les trois fleuves”, il est chargé des cours de sémiologie de l’image à l’école de formation de la photographie et du multimédia (ETPA) à Toulouse et encadre de nombreux workshops en France (Rencontres d’Arles) et à l’étranger. Membre de l’agence Myop depuis 2009, Philippe Guionie est représenté par la galerie Polka à Paris. En 2015, il est commissaire de l’exposition « Koudjina en héritages » aux Rencontres de la photographie africaine à Bamako et directeur de la résidence 1+2 à Toulouse en lien avec deux autres villes européennes (1plus2.fr).
Andreï Kourkov est né en Russie en 1961 et vit à Kiev. Il est aujourd’hui un écrivain ukrainien de langue russe. Très doué pour les langues (il en parle sept), il débute sa carrière littéraire pendant son service militaire alors qu’il est gardien de prison à Odessa… Son premier roman, Le Pingouin, remporte un succès international. Son œuvre est aujourd’hui traduite en 36 langues.