Teufelsberg (mountain devil), is an artificial hill located southwest of Berlin, overlooking the city. Amusement park very popular with young Berliners, this hill was built after the Second World War with the remnants of the city after the Allied bombing. An estimated 30 million cubic meters of rubble piled mass there, the equivalent of 400,000 buildings. The hill rises on the site of the University of Nazi war which had been designed by the architect of the Third Reich, Albert Speer, and half done. As after the war, it was difficult to totally destroy the building riddled with underground bunkers, the German authorities decided to bury him and make him disappear under an artificial hill. The hill was then covered with trees, and used during the winter ski run in the 60s and 70s. During the Cold War, was built at the top center of U.S. espionage radar to listen to communications of the Soviet bloc in East Berlin.

She won the contest SFR Jeunes Talents – BAL 2009.
Coproducer
Le Bal/SFR
Released
15/09/2010
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 290
Broché avec rabats
41 color and blanck and white photos
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-197-7
Buy
Mary Sommer. In 2008, I wrote in my studies, a study on the relationship between people and landscape in contemporary photography. At the same time, I began a practice of landscape photography in medium format. In 2009, I completed my diploma project with a book of photographs on Teufelsberg, a hill in Berlin.
She won the contest SFR Jeunes Talents – BAL 2009.
Jean-Yves Jouannais was born in 1964. He was editor of Art Press for 9 years. Art critic and curator of exhibitions: Venice Biennale, 1995; "The Fool split. Idiocy in the art of the twentieth century", Moscow, 2000; "La Force de l’Art 02", 2009). He began a lecture series entitled "The Encyclopedia of wars" at the Pompidou Center, scheduled for four years.

Teufelsberg (la montagne du diable), est une colline artificielle située au sud ouest de Berlin, dominant la Ville. Parc de loisirs très prisé des jeunes berlinois, cette colline a été construite après la seconde guerre mondiale avec les débris de la ville après les bombardements alliés. On estime à 30 millions de mètre cube la masse de gravats entassés là, soit l’équivalent de 400 000 bâtiments. La colline s’élève sur l’emplacement de l’université de guerre nazie, qui avait été conçue par l’architecte du IIIème Reich, Albert Speer, et à moitié réalisée. Comme, après la guerre, il était difficile de détruire totalement le bâtiment truffé de souterrains et de bunkers, les autorités allemandes décidèrent de l’ensevelir et de le faire disparaître sous une colline artificielle. La colline fut ensuite recouverte d’arbres, et utilisée pendant l’hiver comme piste de ski dans les années 60 et 70. Pendant la guerre froide, on construisit à son sommet un centre de radar d’espionnage américain, pour écouter les communications du bloc soviétique à Berlin-Est.
 
Marie Sommer est lauréate du concours SFR Jeunes Talents – BAL 2009.
Co-production
Le Bal/SFR
Parution
15/09/2010
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 290
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
41 Photographies en bichromie et couleur
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-197-7
Commander

Marie Sommer

Photographe

Marie Sommer. En 2008, j’ai rédigé dans le cadre de mes études, une étude sur les rapports entre personnages et paysages dans la photographie contemporaine. En même temps, j’ai débuté une pratique de la photographie de paysage au moyen format. En 2009, j’ai réalisé mon projet de diplôme avec un livre de photographies sur Teufelsberg, une colline de Berlin.
Elle est lauréate du concours SFR Jeunes Talents – BAL 2009.
Jean-Yves Jouannais est né en 1964. Il a été rédacteur en chef de Art Press pendant 9 ans. Critique d’art et commissaire d’expositions : Biennale de Venise, 1995 ; "Le Fou dédoublé. L’idiotie dans l’art du XXe siècle", Moscou, 2000 ; "La Force de l’art 02", 2009). Il a entamé un cycle de conférences intitulé "L’Encyclopédie des guerres" au Centre Pompidou, programmé pour 4 années.