The Lithuanian filmmaker of international renown Bartas first published his photographs in this book, on the occasion of the retrospective of films dedicated to him by the Centre Pompidou (05.02> 06.03), the release of his new film Peace to Us in Our Dreams (10.02) and exposure at the Passage de Retz (02.02> 27.02).
This book brings together forty unpublished photographs. Margin realized in the preparation of his films without being subject’s photographs Bartas disclaim the same attraction to landscapes and their matter, gross with traces of humanity they contain, melancholy ruins, heat faces. While his filmography consists mostly of fiction, photographs condense all the documentary sensitivity that is also at work in cinema, like its almost shamanic relationship with nature and beings, balance between pragmatism and poetry. Three unpublished poems of Bartas accompany his photographs here.

Released
15/02/2016
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 196
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
40 photos colors ans black & white
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-383-4
Limited Edition numbered edition of 30 accompanied by a photographic print signed by * Sharunas Bartas.
* Selectable between three photographs, each taken 10 copies (print format 15 x 19.5 cm)
  • Few of Them
    Photo #1
  • Few of Them
    Photo #2
  • Few of Them
    Photo #3

Sharunas Bartas

Cinéaste, Photographe

Bartas, born in 1964, is the author of eight films selected in major festivals and critically acclaimed. Since his first feature film Three Days (1991), he built a dense and very personal work, marked by a fascination for the people of the border, the characters wandering and their environments, splendid or sorry. He thus anchored his films in forgotten places but powerfully evocative, like the valleys of southwestern Siberia (Few of Us), Kaliningrad (three days), the Lithuanian forests (The House), the South Moroccan desert (Freedom) or the Crimean War (Seven Invisible Men). Formed in the image at the VGIK, the famous Moscow film school, Bartas is his own director of photography. He practices photography since at least as long as the cinema.

Sonia Voss

Auteur, Commissaire

Sonia Voss was initially dedicated to the cinema. During fifteen years, she has been associated with the production of many French feature films and European selected in major international festivals. She then turned to photography, commissioner of exhibitions and publishing. She coordinated in 2015 the first book on the photographer George Shiras Éditions Xavier Barral (L’Intérieur de la nuit) and has curated the eponymous exhibition at the Museum of Hunting and Nature in Paris (2015-2016 ). She is also curator of the exhibition of unpublished photographs of Bartas Few of Them“, presented at the Passage de Retz in the context of the retrospective of filmmaker Film programmed by the Centre Pompidou (2016). Sonia Voss divides his time between Paris and Berlin.

Le cinéaste lituanien de renommée internationale Sharunas Bartas publie pour la première fois ses photographies dans cet ouvrage, à l’occasion de la rétrospective de films que lui consacre le Centre Pompidou (05.02 > 06.03), de la sortie de son nouveau film Peace to Us in Our Dreams (10.02) et de l’exposition au Passage de Retz (02.02 > 27.02).
Cet ouvrage rassemble quarante photographies inédites. Réalisées en marge de la préparation de ses films sans y être assujetties, les photographies de Bartas déclinent la même attirance pour les paysages et leur matière, la grâce brute des traces d’humanité qu’ils recèlent, la mélancolie des ruines, la chaleur des visages. Tandis que sa filmographie se compose essentiellement de fictions, ses photographies condensent toute la sensibilité documentaire qui est aussi à l’œuvre dans son cinéma, tout comme son rapport presque chamanique à la nature et aux êtres, équilibre entre pragmatisme et poésie. Trois poèmes inédits de Sharunas Bartas accompagnent ici ses photographies.

Parution
15/02/2016
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 196
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
40 photographies en couleur et noir et blanc
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-383-4
Édition limitée tirée à 30 exemplaires numérotés accompagnés d’un tirage photographique* signé par Sharunas Bartas. * Choix possible entre trois photographies, chacune étant tirée à 10 exemplaires (Format du tirage 15 x 19,5 cm)
  • Few of Them
    Photo #1
  • Few of Them
    Photo #2
  • Few of Them
    Photo #3

Sharunas Bartas

Cinéaste, Photographe

Sharunas Bartas, né en 1964, est l’auteur de 8 films, sélectionnés dans les plus grands festivals et salués par la critique. Depuis son premier long métrage Trois jours (1991), il a construit une œuvre dense et très personnelle, marquée par une fascination pour les peuples des confins, les personnages en errance et leurs environnements, splendides ou désolés. Il a ainsi ancré ses films dans des lieux oubliés mais puissamment évocateurs, tels les vallées du sud-ouest de la Sibérie (Few of Us), Kaliningrad (Trois jours), les forêts lituaniennes (The House), le désert sud-marocain (Freedom) ou encore la campagne de Crimée (Seven Invisible Men). Formé à l’image au VGIK, la fameuse école de cinéma de Moscou, Sharunas Bartas est son propre chef opérateur. Il pratique la photographie depuis au moins aussi longtemps que le cinéma.

Sonia Voss

Auteur, Commissaire

Sonia Voss s’est dans un premier temps consacrée au cinéma. Au cours d’une quinzaine d’années, elle a été associée à la production de nombreux longs métrages français et européens sélectionnés dans les principaux festivals internationaux. Elle s’est ensuite tournée vers la photographie, le commissariat d’expositions et l’édition. Elle a coordonné en 2015 le premier ouvrage consacré au photographe George Shiras aux Éditions Xavier Barral (L’Intérieur de la nuit) et a assuré le commissariat de l’exposition éponyme au musée de la Chasse et de la Nature à Paris (2015-2016). Elle est également commissaire de l’exposition de photographies inédites de Sharunas Bartas « Few of Them », présentée au Passage de Retz dans le cadre de la rétrospective des films du cinéaste programmée par le Centre Pompidou (2016). Sonia Voss partage son temps entre Paris et Berlin.