15 years B. Genée and A. Le Borgne, artists, design and carry out joint projects. They create links with different backgrounds and worlds apparently distant from the world of art (circus people, farmers, industrial, military, civil and religious of the Vatican, political ). They develop a parallel reflection on the use of documents directly related to human activities. If collection is not scientific, yet it is organized and carried out by selected corpus, comparing traces to articulate to lead to unexpected performances.
"This artist’s book Archifolia, documents, reports a research that we have developed the Departmental Archives of the North from 2009 to 2012. After the exhibition in 2011 at the Departmental Archives of the North in Lille, the image editing Photographic puts the reader at the center of this heritage institution, in a topography of these places can move. the double indexing and archival photographic prepared with the assistance of professionals Archive North extends research and allows the recognition of content developed in the book. It is in the mode of ambulation in chiaroscuro that we have chosen to lead the reader to the heart of these places. "
Coproducer
Archives départementales du Nord
Released
05/07/2012
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
125 x 175
Relié couverture cartonnée
140 photos duotone
222 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-252-3
Bernadette Genée and Alain Le Borgne born in 1949 and 1947, living in Concarneau. Since 1993, these two artists interact regularly to design and implement numerous projects, publications and exhibitions. The challenge of their work is based on the implementation of exchanges between the field of art and business areas and skills that are a priori foreigners (the circus world, the textile industry, the crafts, museum ). In 1998, they initiate a project called Art makes it abound? with the assistance of Legionnaires and St. Cyr. In 2000, they reconfigure the attachment of the Memorial Museum of SaintCyr Coetquidan with the help of the curator and the museum team. Using cash reserves, new arrangements of objects are created baptized Lives silent. They also introduce the new collection of elements whose implementation has been entrusted to the master tailors and bootmakers attached to the body of the army. And a set of military uniforms small, faithful replicas of those usually made​​, take place in the museum. Trips in the transfer of powers, Alain Le Borgne and Bernadette are Genée sneak military corps in the world of art. Quarter, they discuss the second phase of this project by moving some collections Coetquidan in the art center. Objects, photographs, installations, videos and other curiosities made ​​with the army or with other world take place in the exhibit on the "improbable events" that "transforms the signs in new figures" *.
Bernadette Genée and Alain Le Borgne born in 1949 and 1947, living in Concarneau. Since 1993, these two artists interact regularly to design and implement numerous projects, publications and exhibitions. The challenge of their work is based on the implementation of exchanges between the field of art and business areas and skills that are a priori foreigners (the circus world, the textile industry, the crafts, museum ). In 1998, they initiate a project called Art makes it abound? with the assistance of Legionnaires and St. Cyr. In 2000, they reconfigure the attachment of the Memorial Museum of SaintCyr Coetquidan with the help of the curator and the museum team. Using cash reserves, new arrangements of objects are created baptized Lives silent. They also introduce the new collection of elements whose implementation has been entrusted to the master tailors and bootmakers attached to the body of the army. And a set of military uniforms small, faithful replicas of those usually made​​, take place in the museum. Trips in the transfer of powers, Alain Le Borgne and Bernadette are Genée sneak military corps in the world of art. Quarter, they discuss the second phase of this project by moving some collections Coetquidan in the art center. Objects, photographs, installations, videos and other curiosities made ​​with the army or with other world take place in the exhibit on the "improbable events" that "transforms the signs in new figures" *.

Depuis 15 ans B. Genée et A. Le Borgne, artistes, conçoivent et réalisent des projets communs. Ils créent des liens avec différents milieux et univers en apparence éloignés du monde de l’Art (gens du cirque, agriculteurs, industriels, militaires, civils ou religieux de la cité du Vatican, politiques…). Ils développent parallèlement une réflexion sur l’usage des documents en lien direct avec les activités humaines. Si leur collecte n’est pas scientifique, elle est cependant organisée et procède par corpus sélectionnés, comparant les traces à articuler pour aboutir à des représentations inattendues.
"Ce livre d’artiste Archifolia, documents, fait état d’une recherche que nous avons développée aux Archives départementales du Nord de 2009 à 2012. Après l’exposition présentée en 2011 aux Archives départementales du Nord à Lille, cette édition d’images photographiques place le lecteur au centre du dispositif de cette institution patrimoniale, dans une topographie possible de ces lieux en mouvement. La double indexation photographique et archivistique préparée avec le concours des professionnels des Archives du Nord prolonge la recherche et permet la reconnaissance des contenus développés dans le livre. C’est sur le mode d’une déambulation en clair obscur que nous avons choisi d’entraîner le lecteur au coeur de ces lieux."
Co-production
Archives départementales du Nord
Parution
05/07/2012
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
125 x 175
Relié couverture cartonnée
140 photographies en bichromie
222 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-252-3
Bernadette Genée et Alain Le Borgne nés en 1949 et 1947, vivent à Concarneau. Depuis 1993, ces deux artistes dialoguent régulièrement pour concevoir et réaliser de nombreux projets, éditions et expositions. L’enjeu de leur travail repose sur la mise en œuvre d’échanges entre le champ de l’art et des domaines d’activités et de compétences qui lui sont a priori étrangers ( le monde du cirque, l’industrie du textile, l’artisanat, la muséographie… ). En 1998, ils initient un projet intitulé L’art fait-il légion ? avec le concours des légionnaires et des Saint-Cyriens. En 2000, ils reconfigurent l’accrochage du Musée du Souvenir de Saint-Cyr Coëtquidan avec la complicité du conservateur et de l’équipe du musée. Puisant dans les réserves, des arrangements inédits d’objets baptisés Vies silencieuses sont créés. Ils introduisent également dans la collection de nouveaux éléments dont la réalisation a pu être confiée aux maîtres tailleurs et aux maîtres bottiers attachés au corps de l’armée. Ainsi un ensemble d’uniformes militaires de taille réduite, répliques fidèles de ceux qui sont habituellement confectionnés, prennent place dans le musée. De déplacements en transferts de compétences, Alain Le Borgne et Bernadette Genée font glisser discrètement le corps militaire dans le monde de l’art. Au Quartier, ils abordent la deuxième étape de ce projet en déplaçant une partie des collections de Coëtquidan dans le centre d’art. Objets, photographies, installations, vidéos et autres curiosités réalisés avec l’armée ou avec d’autres univers prennent place dans l’exposition témoignant de ces “rencontres improbables“ qui “transforment les signes en de nouvelles figures"*.
Bernadette Genée et Alain Le Borgne nés en 1949 et 1947, vivent à Concarneau. Depuis 1993, ces deux artistes dialoguent régulièrement pour concevoir et réaliser de nombreux projets, éditions et expositions. L’enjeu de leur travail repose sur la mise en œuvre d’échanges entre le champ de l’art et des domaines d’activités et de compétences qui lui sont a priori étrangers ( le monde du cirque, l’industrie du textile, l’artisanat, la muséographie… ). En 1998, ils initient un projet intitulé L’art fait-il légion ? avec le concours des légionnaires et des Saint-Cyriens. En 2000, ils reconfigurent l’accrochage du Musée du Souvenir de Saint-Cyr Coëtquidan avec la complicité du conservateur et de l’équipe du musée. Puisant dans les réserves, des arrangements inédits d’objets baptisés Vies silencieuses sont créés. Ils introduisent également dans la collection de nouveaux éléments dont la réalisation a pu être confiée aux maîtres tailleurs et aux maîtres bottiers attachés au corps de l’armée. Ainsi un ensemble d’uniformes militaires de taille réduite, répliques fidèles de ceux qui sont habituellement confectionnés, prennent place dans le musée. De déplacements en transferts de compétences, Alain Le Borgne et Bernadette Genée font glisser discrètement le corps militaire dans le monde de l’art. Au Quartier, ils abordent la deuxième étape de ce projet en déplaçant une partie des collections de Coëtquidan dans le centre d’art. Objets, photographies, installations, vidéos et autres curiosités réalisés avec l’armée ou avec d’autres univers prennent place dans l’exposition témoignant de ces “rencontres improbables“ qui “transforment les signes en de nouvelles figures"*.