De la limite à la marge

  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge

De la limite à la marge

“It was during an artist residency organized by the Center des arts de la ville de Douarnenez in 2017 that I discovered Marc Loyon’s work: he came to present his wish to me to enter the reserves of the Port-museum to capture the dimension of an “extraordinary” collection kept in spaces that are no less so.
He didn’t have much trouble convincing me and I have fond memories of this first exchange: as he presented his work in progress and his older prints, the names and research of Bernd and Hilla Becher, Robert Adams or John Davies remembered my memory. Undoubtedly there is in Marc Loyon’s approach a filiation, a kinship of spirit with them: an aspiration to grasp a landscape in transformation, to grasp a reality on the ground by exploring its urban model; and then to discover its peripheral zones, its setbacks, its ambivalences, its accumulated stigmata as much as its contemporary tourist smoothing, all with a personal and singular writing.
Jean-Sylvain Roveri, the director of the Center des arts, had the good idea to invite him from March to June 2017 to explore the city of Penn-Sardin, a work he could then extend briefly to the popular district of Kermarron thanks at the Maison Solidaire, a place of life and entertainment organized by and for the inhabitants. ”

Kelig-Yann Cotto

Coproducer
Port-musée, Douarnenez
Released
18/03/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
250 x 195
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
58 photos colors
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-493-0

Marc Loyon

Photographe

Marc Loyon Lives and works in Rennes. In parallel with his commissioned work, he directs his photographic reflection on the environment through series of architectures and urban landscapes (series “Routes / extracts”, “Iceland / details”, “New Zealand / faces” …) .
Several residences on the theme of landscape and architecture have been set up in recent years (high school, municipality, association, gallery …). The nuance of the hues of his images tends to soften the harshness of the human imprint, the representation of the landscape remaining calculated. Marc Loyon has been a member of the Hans Lucas studio since 2016.

Fabien Ribery

Auteur, Journaliste

Born in Calais in 1972, Fabien Ribery is author and creator of the site Lintervalle.blog. Associated with modern letters, he teaches at the University of Western Brittany. A literary critic at Artpress, he participates in many other magazines (L’In fi ni, Halogenide, Revue de la MEP, Edwarda, 29200 …) and regularly works with publishing houses, both photography and literature. Accompanying the artists who touch him in the long term, his work develops as a work in progress through contemporary sensibility.

De la limite à la marge

  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge
  • De la limite à la marge

De la limite à la marge

“C’est à l’occasion d’une résidence d’artiste organisée par le Centre des arts de la ville de Douarnenez en 2017 que j’ai découvert le travail de Marc Loyon : il venait me présenter son souhait de pénétrer dans les réserves du Port-musée pour y saisir la dimension d’une collection « hors-norme » conservée dans des espaces qui ne le sont pas moins.
Il n’a pas eu beaucoup de mal à me convaincre et je garde de ce premier échange un souvenir ému : alors qu’il me présentait son travail en cours et ses tirages plus anciens, les noms et les recherches de Bernd et Hilla Becher, de Robert Adams ou de John Davies se rappelaient à mon souvenir. Incontestablement il y a dans la démarche de Marc Loyon une filiation, une parenté d’esprit avec eux : une aspiration à saisir un paysage en transformation, à appréhender une réalité de terrain en explorant son modèle urbain ; et puis d’y découvrir ses zones périphériques, ses revers, ses ambivalences, ses stigmates accumulés autant que son lissage touristique contemporain, le tout avec une écriture personnelle et singulière.
Jean-Sylvain Roveri, le directeur du Centre des arts, avait eu la bonne idée de l’inviter de mars à juin 2017 à explorer la ville Penn-Sardin, un travail qu’il put ensuite prolonger brièvement sur le quartier populaire de Kermarron grâce à la Maison Solidaire, un lieu de vie et d’animation organisé par et pour les habitants.”

Kelig-Yann Cotto

Co-production
Port-musée, Douarnenez
Parution
18/03/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
250 x 195
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
58 photographies en couleurs
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-493-0

Marc Loyon

Photographe

Marc Loyon Vit et travaille à Rennes. Parallèlement à ses travaux de commande, il oriente sa réflexion photographique sur l’environnement par des séries d’architectures et de paysages urbains (séries “Itinéraires / extraits”, “Islande / détails”, “Nouvelle Zélande / faces”…).
Plusieurs résidences sur la thématique du paysage et de l’architecture se sont mis en place ces dernières années (lycée, commune, association, galerie…). La nuance des teintes de ses images tend à adoucir la dureté de l’empreinte humaine, la représentation du paysage restant calculée. Marc Loyon est membre du studio Hans Lucas depuis 2016.

Fabien Ribery

Auteur, Journaliste

Né à Calais en 1972, Fabien Ribery est auteur et créateur du site Lintervalle.blog. Agrégé de lettres modernes, il enseigne notamment à l’Université Bretagne Occidentale. Critique littéraire à Artpress, il participe à de nombreuses autres revues (L’Infini, Halogénure, Revue de la MEP, Edwarda, 29200…) et travaille régulièrement avec des maisons d’édition, tant de photographie que de littérature. Accompagnant au long terme par son regard critique les artistes qui le touchent, son œuvre se développe comme un work in progress à travers la sensibilité contemporaine.