For over forty years, Françoise Huguier has been a recognized image reporter. Images captured behind the scenes of fashion shows, in the luggage of a report in Japan, in the limbo of ghost Africa, in the bunkers of Siberia, in the back shops of Korean society. What is less known is that she is also an insatiable gleaner of objects, most brought back from her tribulations, whose collection transforms her house into a gigantic cabinet of curiosities. Unusual and unprecedented, the exhibition Les curiosités du monde by Françoise Huguier invites you to be surprised by the discovery of his universe, an incredible collection of variegated objects, from the most mysterious to the most strangely familiar. , trinkets, movie posters, clothes, fanzines, dishes, masks, books, dolls, carpets, shells … So many objects, which, big or small, spectacular or discreet , take on their full meaning when Françoise Huguier tells their story. “It was a red tin star I found on a grave in a Siberian gulag. “And that ? “A voodoo doll that I am the only one who can touch. Otherwise, watch out for the curse! ” And that ? “A teapot that I bought from a young Tuareg in Timbuktu.”

With regard to her photographic work, Françoise Huguier presents a selection of unusual and poetic objects that she has gleaned from around the world.
An exhibition designed as a travel journal takes place at the Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac from june 30 to 11 october, 2020.

Released
15/05/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 230
Anglais/Français
Broché
350 photos colors
248 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-507-4
Françoise Huguier She began photography by chance by exciting for architectural photography. It is the encounter with Christian Caujolle, photo editor at Libération who passed professional status. She works at the photo service of liberation, it is dedicated to fashion photography, working for titles such as Vogue, Marie Claire and the New York Times magazine. She created the first Biennial of African Photography in Bamako (Mali) in 2008 is one of the commissioners of the Month of Photography, in 2011.

Gérard Lefort

Auteur, Journaliste

Gérard Lefort French film critic. He works at the newspaper Liberation, where he also writes articles related to fashion clothing. From 1990 to May 1996, he co-hosts on France Inter with Marie Colmant the weekly After the terminals there’s no limits. He also writes a thriller, titled Vomit or think that trunk in the series Octopus. He holds the Clipomania topic in emission Nobody move.

Depuis une quarantaine d’années, Françoise Huguier est une rapporteuse d’images reconnue. Des images capturées dans les coulisses des défilés de mode, dans les bagages d’un reportage au Japon, dans les limbes de l’Afrique fantôme, dans les soutes de la Sibérie, dans les arrière-boutiques de la société coréenne. Ce que l’on sait moins, c’est qu’elle est aussi une insatiable glaneuse d’objets, la plupart ramenés de ses tribulations, dont la collection transforme sa maison en un gigantesque cabinet de curiosités. Rendez-vous insolite et inédit, l’exposition Les curiosités du monde de Françoise Huguier invite à se laisser surprendre par la découverte de son univers, une incroyable collection d’objets bigarrés, des plus mystérieux aux plus étrangement familiers.Des tableaux, des bijoux, des bibelots, des affiches de cinéma, des vêtements, des fanzines, de la vaisselle, des masques, des livres, des poupées, des tapis, des coquillages… Autant d’objets, qui, grands ou petits, spectaculaires ou discrets, prennent tout leur sens lorsque Françoise Huguier raconte leur histoire. « Ça c’est une étoile rouge en tôle que j’ai trouvée sur une tombe dans un goulag de Sibérie. » Et ça ? « Une poupée vaudou que je suis la seule à pouvoir toucher. Sinon gaffe à la malédiction ! » Et ça ? « Une théière que j’ai achetée à un jeune Touareg à Tombouctou.»

 

En regard de son travail photographique, Françoise Huguier présente une sélection d’objets insolites et poétiques qu’elle a glanés dans le monde entier.

Une exposition conçue comme un journal de voyage se déroule au Musée du Quai Branly – Jacques Chirac du 31 mars au 14 juin 2020.

Parution
22/04/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 230
Anglais/Français
Broché
350 photographies en couleurs
248 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-507-4
Françoise Huguier Elle débute la photographie par hasard, en se passionnant pour la photographie d’architecture. C’est la rencontre avec Christian Caujolle, rédacteur en chef photo à Libération qui la fait passer à un statut professionnel. Elle travaille au service photo de LIbé, elle se consacre à la photo de mode et travaille pour des titres comme Vogue, Marie-Claire ou le New York Times magazine. Elle créé la première Biennale de la photographie africaine à Bamako (Mali), en 2008 elle est l’un des commissaires du Mois de la Photo, et en 2011.

Gérard Lefort

Auteur, Journaliste

Gérard Lefort Critique français de cinéma. Il travaille au journal Libération où il écrit également des articles liés à la mode vestimentaire. De 1990 à mai 1996, il co-anime sur France Inter avec Marie Colmant l’émission hebdomadaire Passé les bornes y’a plus de limites. Il a par ailleurs écrit un polar, intitulé Vomi soit qui malle y pense, dans la série du Poulpe. Il tient la rubrique Clipomania dans l’émission Personne ne bouge.