Dérive des baigneuses

  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses

Dérive des baigneuses

No need to specify that Vichy is a city of water when one discovers the fluid and evanescent images of Sandra Rocha. In residence in the spa town, she was carried by the rural atmosphere of the squares and gardens, along the banks of the river and she recomposed on the way the visual poem of the girls in flower. Through her light-dazzled images, distant heiresses of the classical and idealist paintings of Puvis de Chavannes, she photographed the eternal summer of the young Vichyssis who gather the roses of life on the edge of the allier.

“On the banks of the Allier, the poses adopted by the models hesitate between the legacy of codes of femininity and the expression of a deep desire for singularity. Some young girls have put themselves in the water and remind us The fate of the models that the artists have sublimated in Baigneuses.The delicate architecture of the spa towns, with their shimmering casino galleries, forms the painted background of live paintings.The artist digs here a breach in time. A cage, the doors of which are wide open, but the beings which escape from it do not move away, the gala ornaments like the water of the river are a palace of mirrors where the reflections are lost.
Michel Poivert

This series of photos is on display at the Portrait (s) festival from June 16 to September 10, 2017. Since the 2014 edition, the Portrait (s) festival organized by the city of Vichy has been hosting a photographer in residence for a month. After Anton Renborg, Cédric Delsaux and Yusuf Sevinçli it was Sandra Rocha, a Portuguese photographer, who surveyed the spa town and made us discover the Vichy youth.

Coproducer
Festival Portrait(s) Vichy
Released
26/06/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 240
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
39 photos colors
64 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-427-5
Buy

Sandra Rocha

Photographe

Sandra Rocha was born in 1974 in the Azores, Portugal. She lives and works in Paris. After practicing photojournalism, she co-founded Kameraphoto, the first collective of Portuguese photographers. For some years now, she has developed a photographic work with a more poetic approach mixing many female figures and the four elements.

Michel Poivert Born in 1965, Professor of Contemporary Art History / History of Photography in Paris 1 University in 1992 He spends his doctorate in history of art at the pictorialist photography, under the direction of José Vovelle . He participated at the same time rescuing SFP threatened with closure, he took the chair. He will head the exhibition "Utopia photographic" the MEP.

Dérive des baigneuses

  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses
  • Dérive des baigneuses

Dérive des baigneuses

Nul besoin de préciser que Vichy est une ville d’eau lorsque l’on découvre les images fluides et évanescentes de Sandra Rocha. En résidence dans la ville thermale, elle s’est laissé porter par l’atmosphère champêtre des squares et jardins, elle a longé les berges du fleuve et elle a recomposé en chemin le poème visuel des jeunes filles en fleur. A travers ses images poudrées de lumière, lointaines héritières des peintures classiques et idéalistes de Puvis de Chavannes, elle a photographié l’éternel été des jeunes vichyssois qui cueillent les roses de la vie en bord de l’allier.

« Sur les rives de l’Allier, les poses adoptées par les modèles hésitent entre l’héritage des codes de la féminité et l’expression d’un profond désir de singularité. Certaines jeunes filles se sont mises à l’eau et nous rappellent le destin des modèles que les artistes ont sublimés en Baigneuses. L’architecture délicate des villes thermales, avec leurs galeries miroitantes de casino, forme le fond peint de tableaux  vivants. L’artiste creuse ici une brèche dans le temps. Ce décor est aussi une cage. Les portes en sont grandes ouvertes mais les êtres qui s’en échappent ne s’éloignent guère. Les ornements de gala comme l’eau du fleuve sont un palais des glaces où se perdent les reflets. »
Michel Poivert

 

Cette série de photos est exposée au festival Portrait(s) du 16 juin au 10 septembre 2017. Depuis l’édition 2014, le festival Portrait(s) organisé par la ville de Vichy accueille, durant un mois, un photographe en résidence. Après Anton Renborg, Cédric Delsaux et Yusuf Sevinçli c’est Sandra Rocha, photographe portugaise, qui a arpenté la cité thermale et nous fait découvrir la jeunesse vichyssoise.

Co-production
Festival Portrait(s) Vichy
Parution
26/06/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 240
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
39 photographies en couleur
64 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-427-5
Commander

Sandra Rocha

Photographe

Sandra Rocha est née en 1974 aux Açores, Portugal. Elle vit et travaille à Paris. Après avoir exercé des fonctions de photojournalisme, elle cofonde Kameraphoto, le premier collectif de photographes portugais. Elle développe depuis quelques années, un travail photographique à l’approche plus poétique mêlant beaucoup de figures féminines et les quatre éléments.

Michel Poivert Né en 1965. Professeur en histoire de l’art contemporain / histoire de la photographie à l’Université Paris 1. Il consacre en 1992 son doctorat d’histoire de l’art à la photographie pictorialiste, sous la direction de José Vovelle. Il participe au même moment au sauvetage de la SFP, menacée de fermeture, dont il prend la présidence. Il dirigera l’exposition « L’Utopie photographique » à la MEP.