The book The house Cyprus is proposed in a facsimile version, as a work indefinitely devoted to its own reproducibility. At the heart of the rehearsal comes the question of archaeological discovery. Central to the book, through the pallid presence of these bones that are exhumed from the past, archaeological research has emerged as a paradigmatic point of the history of the island, mirrored with Pompeii and its slow flow of lava, and by extension with all the places of mass graves of the world.
The first photograph of the book falls into disrepute with the law, and its presence testifies to the prohibition and the almost universal confiscation on the island. It was a question of exposing a device of capture through which to perceive always remains a veiled, interstitial and lacunar act. For the framework of photography is narrow and limited, it embraces the image, thereby nullifying a set of dialectical forms and causes. Thus one never ceases to look through, through walls, grilles, loopholes, barbed wire, one looks at the same time as the inertia of the images the photographic impossibility to narrate History. And yet, the book exists in the jumble of entangled branches, in the entropy of nature that forces the doors, rips the walls into a surge of grasses and cacti which multiply unceasingly. Here, the absurdity of war has indeed taken place, but a long time ago. She passed with the slightest breath of life in her furrow, leaving men struggling with a Kafkaesque situation of wall and division.
1974: the image now accounts for a space impossible to awaken, caramelized and insonore, it is space after and which lasts until today. Only perhaps the orange back teenager represents us. His hands are elegant, voracious and nervous on the computer keyboard. The child whose body is tense remains alone before the light of the screen. He plays war by machine interposed. We look at him without his knowledge, back, concentrated, and through him we look at the screen and his image.
It is thus that we learn to make war.
Monique Deregibus

Released
12/02/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
225 x 285
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
100 photos colors
168 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-430-5
Ten copies of the book were printed from this book, accompanied by an original 18 x 24 cm print *, numbered and signed by Monique Deregibus.
* Two different photographs each shot at five copies.
  • La maison Chypre
    Photo #1
  • La maison Chypre
    Photo #2

Monique Deregibus is a photographer and professor at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux – Arts in Lyon. “The Cyprus House, 2009-2013” is the third book produced in collaboration with Filigranes, Paris.
Each of the photographic series, inherited from a history of the conceptual landscape, is devoted to specific territories, sometimes near or far, always showing a strong interest for the unconscious reminiscences contained in the plan as well as for the notions of architecture and territory urban. These spaces, most of which are recorded in an editorial work, can be read as forming the abandoned scene of human tragedies.

Psychoanalyst, Marie-Hélène Brousse is a member of the board of the Freudian Cause School. For the magazine “Mental” (n ° 15, Feb. 2005), she published an article entitled “Towards a new psychoanalytic clinic”

Historian specialist of the Turkish world
Etienne Copeaux is a researcher at the Research and Studies Group on the Mediterranean and the Middle East of Lyon. He is particularly interested in nationalism in Turkey, symbols and political mythology, and the Cyprus issue. His doctoral thesis defended in 1994 at the Paris-VIII University was titled From the Adriatic to the Sea of China: Turkish representations of the Turkish world through the history textbooks, 1931-1993. Étienne Copeaux regularly collaborates with magazines like Herodotus, REMMM, CEMOTI … He is the husband of the historian Claire Mauss.

Le livre La maison Chypre est proposé dans une version fac-similé, tel un ouvrage indéfiniment voué à sa propre reproductibilité. Au cœur de la répétition arrive la question de la découverte archéologique. Centrale dans le livre, à travers la présence blafarde de ces ossements que l’on exhume du passé, la recherche archéologique est apparue comme un point paradigmatique de l’Histoire de l’île, en miroir avec Pompéi et sa lente coulée de lave, et par extension avec tous les lieux de charniers du monde.
La première photographie du livre entre en porte – à – faux avec la loi, et sa présence témoigne de l’ interdit et de la confiscation quasi généralisée sur l’île. Il s’est agi de mettre à nu un dispositif de captation à travers lequel percevoir demeure toujours un acte voilé, interstitiel et lacunaire. Car le cadre de la photographie est étroit et limité, il étreint l’image, annulant du même coup un ensemble de formes et de causes dialectiques. Ainsi on ne cesse de regarder à travers, à travers des murs, des grilles, des meurtrières, des barbelés, on regarde en même temps que l’inertie des images l’impossibilité photographique de narrer l’Histoire. Et pourtant, le livre existe dans le fouillis des branches enchevêtrées, dans l’entropie de la nature qui force les portes, éventre les murs en un déferlement d’ herbes et de cactées qui se multiplient sans cesse. Ici, l’absurdité de la guerre a bien eu lieu, mais il y a longtemps. Elle a passé emportant dans son sillon le moindre souffle de vie, laissant les hommes aux prises avec une situation kafkaïenne de mur et de division.
1974 : l’image rend compte désormais d’un espace impossible à réveiller, caramélisé et insonore, c’est l’espace d’après et qui dure jusqu’ à aujourd’hui. Seul peut-être l’enfant de dos en t shirt orange nous représente. Ses mains sont élégantes, voraces et nerveuses sur le clavier de l’ordinateur. L’enfant dont le corps est tendu demeure seul devant la lumière de l’écran. Il joue à la guerre par machine interposée. Nous le regardons à son insu, de dos, concentré, et à travers lui nous regardons l’écran et son image.
C’est ainsi désormais que l’on apprend à faire la guerre.
Monique Deregibus

 

 

 

Parution
12/02/2018
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
225 x 285
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
100 photographies en couleur
168 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-430-5
De cet ouvrage il a été tiré dix exemplaires de tête, accompagnés d’un tirage original* au format 18 x 24 cm, numéroté et signé par Monique Deregibus. * Deux photographies différentes tirée chacune à cinq exemplaires.
  • La maison Chypre
    Photo #1
  • La maison Chypre
    Photo #2

Monique Deregibus est photographe et professeur à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Lyon. « La maison Chypre, 2009-2013 » est le troisième livre réalisé en collaboration avec les éditions Filigranes, Paris.
Chacune des séries photographiques, héritière d’une histoire du paysage conceptuel, est consacrée à des territoires spécifiques, tantôt proches ou lointains, manifestant toujours un fort intérêt pour les réminiscences inconscientes contenues dans le plan ainsi que pour les notions d’architecture et de territoire urbain. Ces espaces la plupart du temps consignés dans un travail éditorial peuvent se lire comme formant le décor abandonné des tragédies humaines.

Psychanalyste, Marie-Hélène Brousse est membre du conseil de l’Ecole de la Cause freudienne. Pour la revue « Mental » (n°15, fév. 2005), elle a publié un article intitulé « Vers une nouvelle clinique psychanalytique »

Historien spécialiste du monde turc

Chercheur au Groupe de recherches et d’études sur la Méditerranée et de Moyen-Orient de Lyon, Étienne Copeaux s’intéresse particulièrement nationalisme en Turquie, aux symboles et mythologie politique et à la question chypriote. Sa thèse de doctorat soutenue en 1994 à l’université Paris-VIII était titrée De l’Adriatique à la mer de Chine : les représentations turques du monde turc à travers les manuels d’histoire, 1931-1993. Étienne Copeaux collabore régulièrement avec des revues comme Hérodote, la REMMM, CEMOTI… Il est l’époux de l’historienne Claire Mauss.