Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Couleurs - Numéro 1
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Couleurs - Numéro 1

Under the direction of Michel Poivert
Contributions Nathalie Boulouch, Audrey Leblanc, Valerie Beads

The inaugural issue of the Journal of Gilles Caron Foundation is emblematic of the willingness expressed by Marianne Caron, President of the Foundation and its director Louis Bachelot: making the photographic work of Gilles Caron space for reflection beyond the study the corpus of the author himself. The color is indeed an almost antagonistic theme with the idea that we have of the news report, tradition celebrating the values ​​of black and white to make it a doxa. Yet, since the creation of the Foundation, the reconstruction work of production brings the photographer each year its batch of images in color. Like his colleagues, Gilles Caron produced color as required by the agencies of the 1960s, but our culture and photographic memory have so far little considered that the color could express specifically in ‘reportage image.

– A study day on June 6 in Venice as part of the Venice Biennale.
– Scholl Exhibition Gallery in Paris from 10 June to 25 July 2015

Coproducer
Fondation Bru
Released
05/06/2015
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
230 x 290
Anglais/Français
35 photos colors
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-353-7
Buy

Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Couleurs - Numéro 1

Gilles Caron

Photographe

Gilles Caron (1939-1970) Visual memory of an era, narrated by images chronicle the great contemporary conflicts (Six Day War, Vietnam, Biafra and Northern Ireland, May 68, suppression of Spring Prague …). It will eventually pay this commitment of his life, during a report in Cambodia.
Mobilized as a paratrooper during the war in Algeria, witnessed the brutality inflicted on civilians, he sought, by engaging in photojournalism, to cross to the other side of the fence to understand the situation of people caught in the gear of war. An experience which he did not emerge morally appeased. Party with heroic vision of war photography, Gilles Caron eventually question the purpose of his trade: can we settle for a role as a witness, a spectator? It is one of the first in the industry to present the symptoms of an inner conflict, a moral crisis. One of the first to practice a form of introspection that leads disillusioned reporter gradually return the camera to himself, become the object of the photographic narrative.

Michel Poivert Born in 1965, Professor of Contemporary Art History / History of Photography in Paris 1 University in 1992 He spends his doctorate in history of art at the pictorialist photography, under the direction of José Vovelle . He participated at the same time rescuing SFP threatened with closure, he took the chair. He will head the exhibition "Utopia photographic" the MEP.

Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Couleurs - Numéro 1
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron
  • Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Couleurs - Numéro 1

Sous la direction de Michel Poivert
Contributions de Nathalie Boulouch, Audrey Leblanc, Valérie Perles

Le thème inaugural des Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron est emblématique de la volonté exprimée par Marianne Caron, présidente de la Fondation et Louis Bachelot son directeur : faire de l’œuvre photographique de Gilles Caron un espace de réflexion au-delà de l’étude du corpus de l’auteur lui-même. La couleur est en effet une thématique presque antagoniste avec l’idée que nous nous faisons du reportage d’information, la tradition célébrant les valeurs du noir et blanc jusqu’à en faire une doxa. Et pourtant, depuis la création de la Fondation, le travail  de reconstitution de la production du photographe amène chaque année son lot d’images couleur. A l’instar de ses confrères, Gilles Caron a produit en couleur comme l’exigent les agences des années 1960. Mais notre culture et notre mémoire photographique ont jusqu’à présent peu pris en considération ce que la couleur pouvait exprimer de spécifique dans l’image de reportage.

– Une journée d’étude le 6 juin à Venise dans le cadre de la Biennale de Venise.
– Exposition Scholl Gallery à Paris du 10 juin au 25 juillet 2015

Co-production
Fondation Bru
Parution
05/06/2015
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
230 x 290
Anglais/Français
35 photographies en couleurs
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-353-7
Commander

Les Cahiers de la Fondation Gilles Caron

Couleurs - Numéro 1

Gilles Caron

Photographe

Gilles Caron (1939-1970) Mémoire visuelle d’une époque, a relaté par l’image la chronique des grands conflits contemporains (guerre des Six Jours, du Viêtnam, au Biafra et en Irlande du Nord, Mai 68, répression du Printemps de Prague…). Il finira par payer cet engagement de sa vie, lors d’un reportage au Cambodge.
Mobilisé comme parachutiste lors de la guerre d’Algérie, témoin des brutalités infligées aux civils, il a cherché, en se lançant dans le photojournalisme, à passer de l’autre côté de la barrière pour faire comprendre la situation de populations prises dans l’engrenage de la guerre. Une expérience dont il ne ressortira pas apaisé moralement. Parti avec une vision héroïque de la photographie de guerre, Gilles Caron finira par s’interroger sur la finalité de son métier : peut-on se contenter d’un rôle de témoin, de spectateur ? Il est l’un des premiers dans la profession à présenter les symptômes d’un conflit intérieur, d’une crise morale. L’un des premiers à pratiquer une forme d’introspection désillusionnée qui mène le reporter à retourner progressivement la caméra vers lui-même, devenir l’objet du récit photographique.

Michel Poivert Né en 1965. Professeur en histoire de l’art contemporain / histoire de la photographie à l’Université Paris 1. Il consacre en 1992 son doctorat d’histoire de l’art à la photographie pictorialiste, sous la direction de José Vovelle. Il participe au même moment au sauvetage de la SFP, menacée de fermeture, dont il prend la présidence. Il dirigera l’exposition « L’Utopie photographique » à la MEP.