Satan mène le bal

  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal

Satan mène le bal

Satan runs the show
The alarm went off too early. The coffee pot blew up in my hands. My antibiotics are giving me the shits. Deauville smells like a wet horse. What’s the sense of living if it’s just drinking instant coffee and walking on shards of glass?
I have to write. Get the monster out. Free the beast. All these pages inside me, I have a vague idea of their pedigree, and I am starting to figure out how it all works: I’m going to have to DELIVER THEM. Once the labor is over, exhausted, drenched, incredulous, I’ll glance, cagey, at this ugly and wrinkled baby.
I oversold an empty shell. Interviews with the local press have started. I made my pitch, and everyone thinks it’s great.
“Hey, you’re Bukowski!”
My colleagues have started calling me Bukowski. They think it’s pretty damn cool to have Bukowski in the house.
I want to flee. Disappear. Someplace where the boards are wider. The crowd denser. Dissolve myself in alcohol and gambling. But I just keep coming back. Maybe I’ll leave this place when the affair with this girl ends. Maybe the affair with this girl will end when I leave this place.
God, if she could just keep her mouth shut. If we could just stop having sex. If I could free my mind. I need to write.
Translated from the French by Craig Lund

Coproducer
Le Champs des Impossibles
Released
12/10/2020
Collection
Les Carnets
Format
120 x 165
Français
31 photos colors
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-509-8
Buy

Samuel Lebon

Ecrivain, Photographe

Photographer and writer, long editor for the rock press, Samuel Lebon develops an aesthetic text and image bordering on fiction, playing with the border between dream and reality. Passionate about the relationship between words and photography, he combines the two writings in his creations.

His book “Satan leads the ball”, published in 2020 by Editions Filigranes, thus combines a novel and a photographic series of the same name, produced largely in Deauville for the Festival Planche (s) Contact. Before being published, this project was exhibited in the form of a writer’s room, like a mise en abîme: The manuscript coexisted with the images of a writer’s peregrinations à la Bukowski in an imaginary city inspired by Atlantic City.

Samuel Lebon’s photographs are regularly published in the press (Liberation, Les Inrockuptibles, Télérama, etc.). It is distributed by Hans Lucas.

Satan mène le bal

  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal
  • Satan mène le bal

Satan mène le bal

Le réveil a sonné trop tôt. La cafetière m’a explosé dans les mains. Mon antibiotique me donne la chiasse. Deauville sent le cheval mouillé. À quoi bon vivre si c’est pour boire du café soluble et marcher sur du verre pilé.
Je dois écrire. Sortir le monstre. Libérer la bête.
Toutes ces pages en moi, j’ai une vague idée de leur pedigree, et je commence à comprendre comment ça marche : je vais devoir EN ACCOUCHER. À la fin du travail, épuisé, en nage, incrédule, je regarderai flippé ce bébé moche et fripé.
J’ai survendu une coquille vide. Les interviews pour la presse locale ont commencé. Je balance mon pitch, tout le monde trouve ça génial.
“Hey, you’re Bukowski !”
Les collègues commencent à m’appeler Bukowski. Ils trouvent ça vraiment cool d’avoir Bukowski à la maison.
Je voudrais m’enfuir. Disparaître. Quelque part où les planches sont plus larges. La foule plus dense. Me dissoudre dans l’alcool et le jeu. Mais je reviens sans cesse. Peut-être que je partirai d’ici quand l’histoire avec cette fille sera terminée. Peut-être que l’histoire avec cette fille s’arrêtera quand je partirai d’ici.
Pitié qu’elle se taise. Qu’on arrête de s’emboîter. Qu’on me libère le crâne. J’ai besoin d’écrire.

Co-production
Le Champs des Impossibles
Parution
12/10/2020
Collection
Les Carnets
Format
120 x 165
Français
31 photographies en couleurs
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-509-8
Commander

Samuel Lebon

Ecrivain, Photographe

Photographe et écrivain, longtemps rédacteur pour la presse rock, Samuel Lebon développe une esthétique texte et image à la limite de la fiction, jouant avec la frontière entre rêve et réalité. Passionné par le rapport entre les mots et la photographie, il associe les deux écritures dans ses créations.

 

Son livre “Satan mène le bal”, paru en 2020 aux éditions Filigranes, mêle ainsi roman et série photographique du même nom, réalisée en grande partie à Deauville pour le Festival Planche(s) Contact. Avant d’être publié, ce projet était exposé sous la forme d’une chambre d’écrivain, comme une mise en abîme : Le manuscrit cohabitait avec les images des pérégrinations d’un écrivain à la Bukowski dans une ville imaginaire inspirée d’Atlantic City.

 

Les photographies de Samuel Lebon sont régulièrement publiées dans la presse (Libération, Les Inrockuptibles, Télérama…). Il est distribué par Hans Lucas.