À bout de bras

Autoportraits de famille #3
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras

À bout de bras

Autoportraits de famille #3

“The first time Guillaume Geneste showed me his photographs, the ones to be used in this book, I saw immediately that they would not be like the pictures in albums that focus entirely on capturing the moving image of the idea of the family, but I did not imagine that they would carry the burning issue of family happiness to this point of incandescence, a topic so uncompromising that it brings both experienced photographers and naïve amateurs to the same dead end, stripping them of all technical and aesthetic skills and leaving them open to the risk of shameless sentimentality, which is so badly regarded in photography… It has taken him a long time to develop this practice, which until now has remained a private affair, so that now this collection of photographs can reveal the totally different things playing in them across time, and the acts through which he undermines and subverts the stereotypes of the genre, and express the simple joy of living together, a thing both delightful and scandalous. What we see is what family albums hardly ever feature, and there is no reticence here: moments of the most secret tenderness, nudity, the satisfaction of hugs and clasps, the nestling of babies’ bodies, flesh bound in joy, the ever new, ever stunning wonder of the everyday when shared with the beloved lady, babies that little by little – and so quickly – grow into children. Everything that weaves together without the sound of passion in the bedroom, the kitchen, on the street, on the highway, on the beach; all familiar locations for family photographs that mark out family history. Here they are lifted to a transcendent height by the act of the artist, who is bewitched by the impossibility of his gaze at his loved ones and theirs back at him. All we actually see at first is the radiance of love and the classic reliance on the camera to capture, just for an instant, the imponderable moment of its advent.” […]

Released
25/06/2019
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
150 x 210
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
157 photos duotone
152 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-467-1

À bout de bras

Autoportraits de famille #3
A leading edition accompanies this edition including the book and a photograph * in the format 14 x 20 cm, drawn, numbered and signed by Guillaume Geneste. * Photograph of your choice in the book drawn to single copy.
  • À bout de bras
    Photo #1

Guillaume Geneste

Auteur, Photographe

Guillaume Geneste is founder of the laboratory La Chambre Noire in Paris opened since 1996. He draws the images of many photographers authors and practices film and digital processes. In parallel with his activity as a shooter, he photographed his wife Colette and his two children Chloé and Gabriel as “family self-portraits” where he performed with them at their side.

À bout de bras

Autoportraits de famille #3
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras
  • À bout de bras

À bout de bras

Autoportraits de famille #3

« La première fois que Guillaume Geneste m’a montré ses photos pour en faire ce livre, je savais qu’elles ne seraient pas de celles qui s’évertuent dans les albums à illustrer l’image attendrissante de l’idée de famille, mais je n’imaginais pas qu’elles porteraient à ce point d’incandescence le brûlant sujet du bonheur en famille, si intraitable sujet qu’il met au même seuil d’impasse l’artiste chevronné et l’amateur naïf, les désarme de tout savoir technique ou esthétique, au risque de l’impudeur sentimentale, si mal prisée en photographie… Il lui a fallu le long temps d’une pratique, restée privée jusqu’à ce jour, pour que sa collection de photos révèle ce qui s’y joue de tout autre à travers le temps, qu’elles exposent le geste dont il subvertit les poncifs du genre pour exprimer cette chose à la fois ravissante et scandaleuse qu’est la félicité simple de vivre ensemble. On y voit sans concession ce qui se montre le moins dans l’album, le plus secret des tendresses, la nudité, l’assouvissement des étreintes, enlacement, encorbeillement des corps enfantins, chairs épousées de joie, la merveille renouvelée et toujours étonnante du quotidien partagé avec la femme aimée, bébés puis enfants peu à peu – si vite – grandis : tout ce qui se trame sans bruit de passion dans la chambre ou la cuisine, la rue, sur les routes, la plage ; lieux familiers à la photo de famille qui jalonnent sa chronique, ici transcendés par le geste de l’opérateur épris de l’impossible regard sur soi et sur les siens. De fait, on ne voit d’abord que rayonner l’amour, et le recours classique à l’appareil photo pour saisir un peu l’impondérable instant de son avènement. » […]
Anne-Marie Garat Extrait

Parution
25/06/2019
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
150 x 210
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
157 photographies en bichromie
152 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-467-1

À bout de bras

Autoportraits de famille #3
Un tirage de tête accompagne cette édition comprenant le livre et une photographie* au format 14 x 20 cm, tirée, numérotée et signée par Guillaume Geneste. * Photographie au choix dans l’ouvrage tirée à exemplaire unique.
  • À bout de bras
    Photo #1

Guillaume Geneste

Auteur, Photographe

Guillaume Geneste est fondateur du laboratoire La Chambre Noire à Paris ouvert depuis 1996. Il tire les images de nombreux photographes auteurs et pratique les procédés argentique et numérique. Parallèlement à son activité de tireur il photographie sous forme “d’autoportraits de famille“ sa femme Colette et ses deux enfants Chloé et Gabriel où il se met en scène avec eux à leurs côtés.