Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

Kourtney Roy’s work is presented around the world. She exhibited for the first time in 2008 in Arles and Cabourg in 2010 and Shanghai in 2011. In 2012 she participated in the “Circulations Festival” and has exposed her work at the Gallery Hug in Paris, France and the “Festival Images” in Vevey, Switzerland. She also completed an unprecedented series in Deauville for the ” Planche(s) Contact Festival” (Contact Sheets Festival), and participated in the “Head On Photo Festival” in Sydney in 2013. Rising star of fashion and commercial photography , she won the PMU Carte Blanche in 2013.One is unable to resist the charms of this Canadian photographer, with her rebellious hair, piercing eyes and infectious laugh, she is the example of an uninhibited and sincere artist who does not take herself too seriously.
Both model and photographer, concepts such as play, experiment and ambiguity seem to guide the personal research of this unique photographer whose work is often compared to film-stills.  “I started doing self-portraits in university,”  she recalls. “I’m a little shy, I do not really like directing people during photo shoots. I feel that having a model is quite outdated as a concept. The idea of ​​being a photographer and the subject at the same time seems more compelling”.
Coproducer
Carte blanche PMU - Le Bal
Released
28/04/2014
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
190 x 250
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
36 photos colors
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-307-0
Buy
Press review

Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

Kourtney Roy

Photographe

Kourtney Roy Born in 1981 in Canada, where she grew up, Kourtney Roy conducts studies of Fine Arts then turned to photography that arouses interest in its immediacy and its strong links with reality. Kourtney Roy begins to take self-portraits at the university. At the border of art and fashion, his work shows the cross-influences between these two worlds. It combines in her work fiction and self-fiction, and explores the strange and sublime aspects of daily life in stagings tinged mystery. Kourtney Roy was the recipient of several awards: Picto Prize in 2007, Screenings Award” in Berlin in 2008, Emiliy Award” in Vancouver in 2012.
Thomas Clerc is an associate in modern literature, Doctor of Philosophy and Master conference in the University of Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense. He has already published by Editions Gallimard, Paris, Musée du XXI Century (crossbow / Gallimard, 2007), and The Man Who Shot Roland Barthes and other news, the new Grand Prix of the French Academy.
Just published Interior Collection crossbow / Gallimard Gallimard.

Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle
  • Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

Elle expose pour la première fois en 2008, notamment à Arles, puis à Cabourg en 2010 et Shanghai en 2011. En 2012, Kourtney Roy participe au festival « Circulation(s) » et est exposée à la galerie Hug ainsi qu’au festival de Vevey en Suisse. Elle a réalisé également une série inédite sur Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planches Contact, et a participé au « Head On Photo Festival » à Sydney en 2013.Impossible de résister au charme de la photographe canadienne Kourtney Roy. Avec sa chevelure rebelle, son regard perçant et son rire contagieux, elle est l’exemple de l’artiste décomplexée et sincère qui ne se prend pas au sérieux. Star montante de la photographie de mode et commerciale, elle a été lauréate de la Carte Blanche PMU en 2013.
Modèle et photographe à la fois
Jouer, expérimenter, s’amuser, ces mots semblent guider les recherches personnelles de cette photographe singulière. Exposés partout dans le monde, ses autoportraits sont des films à image unique. « J’ai commencé à faire des autoportraits à l’université, » se rappelle-t-elle. « Je suis un peu timide, je n’aime pas vraiment diriger les gens pendant les séances photo. En plus, avoir un modèle est assez démodé comme concept. L’idée d’être photographe et sujet en même temps me semble plus intéressante. »
Co-production
Carte blanche PMU - Le Bal
Parution
28/04/2014
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
190 x 250
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
36 photographies en couleurs
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-307-0
Commander
Revue de presse

Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle

Kourtney Roy

Photographe

Kourtney Roy Née en 1981 au Canada où elle a grandi, Kourtney Roy effectue des études de Beaux-Arts puis s’oriente vers la photographie qui suscite son intérêt pour son immédiateté et son lien très fort avec le réel. Kourtney Roy commence à faire des autoportraits à l’université. A la frontière de l’art et de la mode, son travail montre les influences croisées entre ces deux mondes. Elle mêle dans son travail fiction et auto-fiction, et explore les aspects sublimes et étranges de la vie du quotidien, dans des mises en scènes teintées de mystère. Kourtney Roy a été lauréate de plusieurs prix : Prix Picto en 2007, « Screenings Award » à Berlin en 2008, « Emiliy Award » à Vancouver en 2012.
Thomas Clerc est agrégé de lettres modernes, docteur ès lettres et maitre de conférence au sein de l’université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense. Il a déjà publié, aux Éditions Gallimard, Paris, musée du XXIe siècle (L’arbalète/Gallimard, 2007), et L’homme qui tua Roland Barthes et autres nouvelles,  Grand Prix de la nouvelle de l’Académie française.
Vient de paraître Intérieur Collection L’arbalète/Gallimard, Gallimard.