Survivalist Failures

  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures

Survivalist Failures

When Kourtney Roy found himself confined to Normandy during the coronavirus crisis, his unlimited imagination issued a photographic series entitled Survivalist Failures. Every day, Kourtney Roy proposed a guide to survival, ironic, offset and sharp as she published on social networks. Each photograph was accompanied by survival lessons: Lesson 11: LN The Apocalypse Do not Forget About Personal Hygiene. At the confinement, our daily life has changed and our benchmarks have been shabolded. For the movement of survivalists, all that they had been preparing for years had arrived, world forties. Kourtney Roy inspired himself, with his particular artistic language, and in the manner of the survivalists, the artist was staging in unusual situations, who may remind him of his childhood to tell stories. Fantastic in Canadian forests.
This series installs us in a post apocalyptic atmosphere that takes place in its garden. In this playground with infinite possibilities, Roy stages in self-portraits, who are the thread of his work, and uses his body to question the way of representing women at different times, in photography. These performances between fiction and reality, are the shifted testimony of these weeks that we have crossed, a testimony of an unusual era.

Yasmine Lavizzari

Released
21/03/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
152 x 210
Anglais/Français
Broché
52 photos colors
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-565-4
Buy

Kourtney Roy

Photographe

Born in 1981 in Canada, where she grew up, Kourtney Roy conducts studies of Fine Arts then turned to photography that arouses interest in its immediacy and its strong links with reality. Kourtney Roy begins to take self-portraits at the university. At the border of art and fashion, his work shows the cross-influences between these two worlds. It combines in her work fiction and self-fiction, and explores the strange and sublime aspects of daily life in stagings tinged mystery. Kourtney Roy was the recipient of several awards: Picto Prize in 2007, Screenings Award” in Berlin in 2008, Emiliy Award” in Vancouver in 2012.

Survivalist Failures

  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures
  • Survivalist Failures

Survivalist Failures

Lorsque la Kourtney Roy s’est retrouvée confinée en Normandie pendant la crise du Coronavirus, son imagination illimitée a délivré une série photographique intitulée Survivalist Failures. Tous les jours, Kourtney Roy proposait un guide de survie, ironique, décalé et tranchant qu’elle publiait sur les réseaux sociaux. Chaque photographie était accompagnée de leçons de survie: Lesson 11: ln the apocalypse don’t forget about personal hygiene. Lors du confinement, notre quotidien a brutalement changé et nos repères ont été chamboulés. Pour le mouvement des survivalistes, tout ce à quoi ils se préparaient depuis des années était arrivé, une quarantaine mondiale. Kourtney Roy s’en est inspirée, avec son langage artistique si particulier, et à la manière des survivalistes, l’artiste s’est mise en scène dans des situations insolites, qui lui rappellent peut-être son enfance passée à se raconter des histoires fantastiques dans les forêts canadiennes.
Cette série nous installe dans une ambiance post apocalyptique qui prend place dans son jardin. Dans ce terrain de jeu aux possibilités infinies, Roy se met en scène dans des autoportraits, qui sont le fil conducteur de son œuvre, et utilise son corps pour interroger la manière de représenter les femmes à différentes époques, dans la photographie. Ces performances entre fiction et réalité, sont le témoignage décalé de ces semaines que nous avons traversées, un témoignage d’une époque insolite.

Yasmine Lavizzari

Parution
21/03/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
152 x 210
Anglais/Français
Broché
52 photographies en couleurs
72 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-565-4
Commander

Kourtney Roy

Photographe

Née en 1981 au Canada où elle a grandi, Kourtney Roy effectue des études de Beaux-Arts puis s’oriente vers la photographie qui suscite son intérêt pour son immédiateté et son lien très fort avec le réel. Kourtney Roy commence à faire des autoportraits à l’université. A la frontière de l’art et de la mode, son travail montre les influences croisées entre ces deux mondes. Elle mêle dans son travail fiction et auto-fiction, et explore les aspects sublimes et étranges de la vie du quotidien, dans des mises en scènes teintées de mystère. Kourtney Roy a été lauréate de plusieurs prix : Prix Picto en 2007, « Screenings Award » à Berlin en 2008, « Emiliy Award » à Vancouver en 2012.