Photographic archives of Polish immigration to the coal basin of northern France, in the 1920s / 1930s.
Born in 1904 in the industrial region of the Ruhr (Germany) to parents originally from Poland, Kasimir Zgorecki emigrated to the North of France with his family at the age of 18. A background minor for some six months, he then turned to professional photography and in 1924 took over his brother-in-law’s studio in Rouvroy, in Pas-de-Calais. His career focused mainly on portraits of the region’s Polish population – whose immigration was linked to the heavy coal and steel industry – soon flourished. Zgorecki is particularly involved in identity photography, which became mandatory on the cards of foreigners working in France in 1917.
This activity provides him with an important source of income: he strategically uses a single glass negative for several portraits, having his subjects pose in front of a neutral background. In contrast, the style of his family portraits is often more staged. Working both in his studio, outdoors or in his clients’ homes, Zgorecki photographs the Polish community on different occasions, providing work of an anthropological nature.

This book brings together more than 150 photographs covering the period from 1924 to 1947 and discusses the role of studio photography in the 1920s and 1930s. This bilingual edition, reflecting the course of the exhibition, is intended to be the first in-depth study of the work of the photographer.

Exhibition by Kasimir Zgorecki, presented at the Jeu de Paume
– Château de Tours from October 30, 2020 to May 25, 2021

Coproducer
Jeu de Paume
Released
20/10/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 243
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
150 photos colors and black and withe
168 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-501-2
Buy

Kasimir Zgorecki

Photographe

Kasimir Zgorecki was born in 1904 in the industrial region of the Ruhr region (Germany), where his parents, Polish immigrants from Poznan, had settled to work in the coal mines. The Zgorecki family emigrated to the north of France in 1922; he was then 18 years old. Zgorecki was a miner for some six months, but then turned to professional photography and in 1924 took over his brother-in-law’s photography studio (in Rouvroy, Pas-de-Calais, France). He mainly produces portraits of Polish immigrants from the region; its activity quickly flourishes.

Pia Viewing

Auteur, Commissaire

After graduate studies in art, then in art history, Pia Viewing began working at the Contemporary Art Center La Criée in Rennes, where she created the educational service. A post at the Fondation De Appel in Amsterdam was followed, between 1996 and 2004, by a committed work at the International Center of Art and Landscape of Vassivière in Limousin. After seven years at the Regional Center of Photography (CRP) in Douchy-les-Mines, Pia Viewing moved to new horizons to become a researcher and exhibitions curator at the Jeu de Paume in Paris.

Frédéric Lefever

Auteur, Photographe

Frédéric Lefever is an artist-photographer in the Pas-de-Calais. He is also a professor at the European Higher School of Image in Angoulême.

Yves Frey

Auteur

Yves Frey has a doctorate in history, specializing in immigration. A retired professor from the University of Haute-Alsace, he is a researcher at CRESAT, Center for Research in the Arts, Sciences and Techniques. Among his published works, we can cite Histoire des Polonais en France (Détour, 2019).

Anne Cartier-Bresson is general heritage curator. A doctorate in art history, she has published numerous articles and books on material history, the conservation and restoration of photographs, including L’Objet photographique, une invention permanence (Photo Poche, 2012) and In the studio. by the photographer (Paris-Musées, 2012).

Archives photographiques de l’immigration polonaise dans le bassin houiller du nord de la France, dans les années 1920/1930.
Né en 1904 dans la région industrielle de la Ruhr (Allemagne), de parents originaires de Pologne, Kasimir Zgorecki émigre dans le Nord de la France avec sa famille à l’âge de 18 ans. Mineur de fond pendant quelque six mois, il se tourne ensuite vers la photographie professionnelle et reprend en 1924 le studio de son beau-frère à Rouvroy, dans le Pas-de-Calais. Sa carrière principalement axée autour des portraits de la population polonaise de la région – dont l’immigration est liée à l’industrie lourde du charbon et de l’acier – devient vite florissante. Zgorecki s’investit notamment dans la photographie d’identité, devenue obligatoire sur les cartes des étrangers travaillant en France en 1917.
Cette activité lui assure une importante source de revenus : il recourt stratégiquement à un unique négatif-verre pour plusieurs portraits, faisant poser ses sujets devant un fond neutre. À la différence, le style de ses portraits de famille est souvent davantage mis en scène. Œuvrant tout à la fois dans son studio, en extérieur ou au domicile de ses clients, Zgorecki photographie la communauté polonaise en différentes occasions, fournissant un travail de nature anthropologique.

 

Cet ouvrage rassemble plus de 150 photographies couvrant la période de 1924 à 1947 et aborde le rôle de la photographie de studio dans les années 1920 et 1930. Cette édition bilingue, reflet du parcours de l’exposition, se veut la première étude approfondie de l’œuvre du photographe.

 

Exposition de Kasimir Zgorecki, présentée au Jeu de Paume
– Château de Tours du du 30 octobre 2020 au 25 mai 2021

Co-production
Jeu de Paume
Parution
20/10/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
170 x 243
Anglais/Français
Broché avec rabats
150 photographies en bichromie et en couleurs
168 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-501-2
Commander

Kasimir Zgorecki

Photographe

Kasimir Zgorecki naît en 1904 dans la région industrielle de la Ruhr (Allemagne), où ses parents, immigrés polonais originaires de Poznan, s’étaient installés pour travailler dans les mines de charbon. La famille Zgorecki émigre dans le nord de la France en 1922 ; il a alors 18 ans. Zgorecki est mineur de fond pendant quelque six mois, mais se tourne ensuite vers la photographie professionnelle et reprend en 1924 le studio de photographie de son beau-frère (à Rouvroy, Pas-de-Calais, France). Il réalise principalement des portraits d’immigrants polonais de la région ; son activité devient vite florissante.

Pia Viewing

Auteur, Commissaire

Après des études supérieures en art, puis en histoire de l’art, Pia Viewing commence à travailler au Centre d’art contemporain La Criée à Rennes, où elle crée le service éducatif. Un poste à la Fondation De Appel, à Amsterdam est suivi, entre 1996 et 2004, par un travail engagé au Centre international d’art et du paysage de Vassivière en Limousin. Après sept ans passés au Centre régional de la photographie (CRP) de Douchy-les-Mines, Pia Viewing s’en va vers de nouveaux horizons pour devenir chercheuse et commissaire d’expositions au Jeu de Paume, à Paris.

Frédéric Lefever

Auteur, Photographe

Frédéric Lefever est artiste-photographe dans le Pas-de-Calais. Il est aussi professeur à l’École européenne supérieure de l’image à Angoulême.

Yves Frey

Auteur

Yves Frey est docteur en histoire, spécialiste de l’immigration. Professeur retraité de l’Université de Haute-Alsace, il est chercheur au sein du CRESAT, Centre de recherches sur les arts, les sciences et les techniques. Parmi ses ouvrages publiés, on peut citer Histoire des Polonais en France (Détour, 2019).

Anne Cartier-Bresson est conservatrice générale du patrimoine. Docteure en histoire de l’art, elle a publié de nombreux articles et ouvrages sur l’histoire matérielle, la conservation et la restauration des photographies parmi lesquels L’Objet photographique, une invention permanente (Photo Poche, 2012) et Dans l’atelier du photographe (Paris-Musées, 2012).