The flight of the swallow, a symbol of freedom. Le Bleu du Ciel takes as its starting point a childhood memory, that of the song of swallows in the sky and their gathering on the electric wires before their trip to the Sahara. Associated with the ideas of travel and freedom, the flight of these birds inspired Édouard Taufenbach and Régis Campo to image a “score made up of ruptures, accelerations and silences” in which “abstract forms such as signs to be interpreted “. It is around this poetic motif that the artistic research of the two laureates is tied, who wish to create with four hands a “sensitive representation of the passage of time, of movement and of exchanges and circulations within a space”, by combining their practices of image and music.

Édouard Taufenbach was born in 1988. Régis Campo is twenty years his senior. They met last spring, following the announcement of the launch of the 4th edition of the Swiss Life Prize at 4 Mains and their worlds immediately dialogued. Both indeed share the same cinephile and musical imagination, a closeness of tastes and spirit that made them want to combine their know-how.

Bringing together photography and music at the heart of a common project, this is the ambition of the Swiss Life 4 Hands Prize organized by the Swiss Life Foundation. The 2020 edition elected its winning duo: photographer Edouard Taufenbach and composer Régis Campo for their cross-sectional work Le Bleu du Ciel. Their collaboration is based on the theme of the swallow, inspired by a childhood memory of the sounds they made as they perched on the wires of utility poles. At the crossroads of art and science, their performance is a sensitive representation of exchanges and circulations within space based on the movements of the flight of the swallow during the migrations where it crosses the Sahara and the Mediterranean in race to sub-Saharan Africa and Europe.

Coproducer
Prix Swiss Life à 4 mains
Released
15/10/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
225 x 285
Français
Leporello (dépliant)
Leporello 25 volets (5,37 m déplié)
50 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-515-9
Buy

Édouard Taufenbach Born in 1988, he lives and works in Paris where he graduated in Art and digital media at the Sorbonne. His work is divided between video art and plastic expression. In 2015 he presented a large-scale installation: SFUMATO for Nuit Blanche, as well as a first solo exhibition: HOMMAGE2. The following year, he presented a series of CINEMA collage: domestic stories, playing on the boundaries between document and fiction, shown at 104 in Paris in 2017 as part of the Circulation (s) festival. He presented SPECULAIRE in 2018 at Galerie Binome as well as at Unssen and Paris Photo.

Régis Campo

Compositeur

Régis Campo born in 1968 in Marseille, is a French music composer, member of the Académie des beaux-arts. He studied composition with Georges Bœuf at the Marseille conservatory. He continued in the composition and musical civilizations class of Jacques Charpentier (composer) at the conservatory with regional influence in Paris. His style, often described as playful and colorful, departs from the major aesthetic trends of the late twentieth century by emphasizing melodic invention, humor, joy and a great vitality of tempos.

Le vol de l’hirondelle, un symbole de liberté. Le Bleu du Ciel prend pour point de départ un souvenir d’enfance, celui du chant des hirondelles dans le ciel et de leur rassemblement sur les fils électriques avant leur voyage vers le Sahara. Associé aux idées de voyage et de liberté, le vol de ces oiseaux a inspiré à Édouard Taufenbach et Régis Campo l’image d’une “partition faite de ruptures, d’accélérations et de silences” où se dessinent “des formes abstraites comme des signes à interpréter”. C’est autour de ce motif poétique que se nouent les recherches artistiques des deux lauréats, qui souhaitent créer à quatre mains une “représentation sensible du passage du temps, du mouvement et des échanges et circulations au sein d’un espace”, en alliant leurs pratiques de l’image et de la musique.

Édouard Taufenbach est né en 1988. Régis Campo, lui, est de vingt ans son aîné. Ils se sont rencontrés au printemps dernier, suite à l’annonce du lancement de la 4e édition du Prix Swiss Life à 4 Mains et leurs univers ont immédiatement dialogué. L’un et l’autre partageant en effet le même imaginaire cinéphile et musical, une proximité de goûts et d’esprit qui leur a donné envie d’unir leur savoir-faire.

 

Rassembler photographie et musique au coeur d’un projet commun, c’est l’ambition du prix Swiss Life à 4 mains organisé par la Fondation Swiss Life. L’édition 2020 a élu son duo de lauréat : le photographe Edouard Taufenbach et le compositeur Régis Campo pour leur oeuvre croisée Le Bleu du Ciel. Leur collaboration est basée sur le thème de l’hirondelle est inspirée d’un souvenir d’enfance des sons qu’elles émettaient alors qu’elles se perchaient sur les fils des poteaux électriques. Au croisement de l’art et de la science, leur performance est une représentation sensible des échanges et circulations au sein de l’espace se basant sur les mouvements du vol de l’hirondelle pendant les migrations où elle traverse le Sahara et la Méditerranée en course vers l’Afrique subsaharienne et l’Europe.

Co-production
Prix Swiss Life à 4 mains
Parution
15/10/2020
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
225 x 285
Français
Leporello (dépliant)
Leporello 25 volets (5,37 m déplié)
50 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-515-9
Commander

Édouard Taufenbach Né en 1988, il vit et travaille à Paris où il a été Diplômé en Art et média numérique à la Sorbonne. Son travail est partagé entre art vidéo et expression plastique. En 2015 il présente une installation d’envergure : SFUMATO pour Nuit Blanche, ainsi qu’une première exposition personnelle : HOMMAGE2. L’année suivante, il propose une série de collage CINEMA : histoires domestiques, jouant sur les frontières entre le document et la fiction, montrée au 104 à Paris en 2017 dans le cadre du festival Circulation(s). Il présente SPECULAIRE en 2018 à la Galerie Binome ainsi qu’à Unssen et à Paris Photo.

Régis Campo

Compositeur

Régis Campo né en 1968 à Marseille, est un compositeur de musique français, membre de l’Académie des beaux-arts. Il étudie la composition auprès de Georges Bœuf au conservatoire de Marseille. Il poursuit dans la classe de composition et de civilisations musicales de Jacques Charpentier (compositeur) au conservatoire à rayonnement régional de Paris. Son style, souvent qualifié de ludique et de coloré, s’écarte des grands courants esthétiques de la fin du vingtième siècle en mettant l’accent sur l’invention mélodique, l’humour, la joie et sur une grande vitalité des tempos.