Passages

de l’ombre aux images
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages

Passages

de l’ombre aux images

This long-term photographic work began in 2008 to end 2019. But the birth of this series as presented here, took place in 2015, after the attacks of 13 November. An event that resonated and awakened a deep anxiety of death at the artist. She thought of this series as a great self-portrait that wants to be universal, with the idea of presenting the images as if it were the last. His images are thoughts, written – a little like the automatic writing of the surrealists – then drawn. The photographic act arrives in the final step. This creative process being long, it realizes very few images. It is here about a double pass, that of the mental image in the image

With my large format camera, I set out on an excavation so that I could assemble an intimate reliquary. A sort of internal archaeology. Where the borders get twisted and what is beyond breaks in to create the framework for a world between two waters.

I plunged into a world under the ground, into a buried dream where dreamed memories and roots intertwine. And once again the issue is borders and perceptions. What I brought out was symbolic objects and bits of bodies so I could recreate, in the crypt of my studio, fragments of rites, bestiaries, an inventory of remnants. Mental images.

Coproducer
Centre national des arts plastiques ; la galerie 127, l’ETPA, Toulouse
Released
15/11/2021
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
235 x 305
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
36 photos duotone
76 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-557-9
Buy

Sara Imloul

Photographe

Sara Imloul, a French plastic photographer born in 1986 and who lives in Paris, invites us through her work, to step up to and dive into, and thus discover an intimist universe in which the theatre of a world in black and white, made of darkness and light, plays out. In 2008, she started her first series, “Black Circus”, after discovering calotype, a photographic
process invented in the 19 th century that enabled the production of paper negatives and hence the reproduction of contact images.

Since then she has developed personal techniques in her lab that make it possible for her to turn her mysterious, dreamlike universe into images.
Her second series, Negatives (2012), comprises individual 4×5 camera images where contact leaves room for the original negative on baryte paper.
In 2013, working together with performance artist Nantais, she experimented with video and installation in T.R.E.S.E.D Ballad on the Imbalance of Falling.
Then began The Castle in 2014, a more introspective, plastic, Auto-8 series which is about and includes images of her own family. In this work, she places drawings and collages in her negatives. It was published under the same title by Editions Filigranes.
In 2019 Passages, from Shade to Images came out, a new series woven together like a sort of internal archaeology, a photographic reliquary of mental images. Price Levallois 2019
In 2020, À quatre mains, a joint project with sculptor Nicolas Lefebvre, in which through the eyes of the photographer the sculptor’s works take on a timeless dimension, like sacred ancestral archives.
And Chez Moi, release end of 2021.

 

Philippe Pollet-Villard

Auteur, Cinéaste

Philippe Pollet-Villard is a director, scriptwriter, writer and French actor. His family is native to Thônes. It follows the courses of Annecy’s Fine Arts preparatory school.
He moved to Paris to work in advertising as DA at the BDDP agency; (Customers: Virgin Megastore among others …). At the same time, it follows theaters to learn the direction of actors, and begins to participate in the realization of films. He receives the Grand Prize, the Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival (2007), the Oscar of Best Fiction Short Fiction and Caesar of Best Short Film for “The Mozart Pickpockets”.

Passages

de l’ombre aux images
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages
  • Passages

Passages

de l’ombre aux images

Ce travail photographique au long cours a débuté en 2008 pour s’achever 2019. Mais la naissance de cette série telle que présentée ici, a eu lieu en 2015, après les attentats du 13 novembre. Un événement qui a fortement résonné et éveillé une profonde angoisse de mort chez l’artiste. Elle a pensé cette série comme un grand autoportrait qui se veut universel, avec l’idée de présenter les images comme si c’était les dernières. Ses images sont pensées, écrites – un peu à la manière de l’écriture automatique des surréalistes – puis dessinées. L’acte photographique arrive en dernière étape. Ce processus de création étant long, elle réalise très peu d’images. Il est ici question d’un double passage, celui de l’image mentale à l’image

“Avec ma chambre photographique j’ai procédé à des fouilles pour constituer un reliquaire intime. Une archéologie intérieur. Là où les frontières se distordent, où l’au-delà rode pour faire le cadre sur un monde entre deux eaux.
J’ai plongé au dedans, dans un monde sous terrain, dans un songe enfoui où se mêlent racines et souvenirs rêvés. Et c’est à nouveau de frontières et de perceptions dont il est question. J’ai fait emerger objets symboliques et bribes de corps pour recréer dans la crypte de l’atelier fragments de rites, bestiaire, inventaire de vestiges. Images mentales.” […]

Co-production
Centre national des arts plastiques ; la galerie 127, l’ETPA, Toulouse
Parution
15/11/2021
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
235 x 305
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
36 photographies en bichromie
76 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-557-9
Commander

Sara Imloul

Photographe

Sara Imloul, photographe plasticienne française née en 1986 et vivant à Paris, entame en 2008 sa première série Le Cirque Noir, en découvrant la calotypie.
(Procédé photographique datant du XIXe permettant d’obtenir un négatif papier, impliquant la reproduction des images par contact).
​Elle développe dès lors dans son laboratoire des techniques personnelles lui permettant de mettre en image son univers mystérieux et onirique. Il s’en suivra Négatifs (2012), pièces uniques à la chambre 4×5 pouces où ici le contact a laissé place au négatif originel sur papier baryté. Elle expérimente également la vidéo et l’installation en 2013 avec T.R.E.S.E.D
en collaboration avec un performeur Nantais.
​Puis commence une série plus introspective, auto-fictionnelle et plastique en introduisant le dessin et le collage sur ses négatifs avec un travail sur et avec sa propre famille dans Das Schloss en 2014 (livre éponyme paru aux Éditions Filigranes).
​En 2019 sort Passages, de l’Ombre aux Images, une nouvelle série tissée comme une archéologie intérieure, un reliquaire photographique d’images mentales. Prix Levallois 2019
​En 2020, À Quatres Mains une collaboration avec Nicolas Lefebvre, où les oeuvres du sculpteur à travers l’oeil de la photographe prennent une dimension intemporelle, archives ancestrales et sacrées.
Et Chez Moi, sortie fin 2021

Philippe Pollet-Villard

Auteur, Cinéaste

Philippe Pollet-Villard est un réalisateur, scénariste, écrivain et acteur français. Sa famille est originaire de Thônes. Il suit les cours de l’école préparatoire des Beaux-Arts d’Annecy.
Il s’installe à Paris pour travailler dans la publicité comme DA à l’agence BDDP ; ( clients : Virgin Megastore entre autres…). Parallèlement, il suit des cours de théâtres pour apprendre la direction d’acteurs, et commence à participer à la réalisation de films. Il reçoit le Grand Prix, au Festival international du court-métrage de Clermont-Ferrand (2007), l’Oscar du meilleur court-métrage de fiction et le César du meilleur court-métrage pour “Le Mozart des pickpockets”.