Braguino

Ou la Communauté impossible
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino

Braguino

Ou la Communauté impossible

Clement Cogitore was in 2015 the first winner of the LE BAL DE LA JEUNE CREATION AWARD WITH ADAGP. This Prize aims to accompany during two years the realization of a project of creation taking place in the broad spectrum of the image-document, fixed and in motion, questioning our human experience. Braguino or the impossible community is the subject of an installation at the BAL from September 15 to December 23, 2017 and a book co-edited by LE BAL and Filigranes Éditions. Clement Cogitore visited Braguino in 2016, named after the family living in a few wooden huts at the bottom of the Siberian Taïga, 700 km from any human presence. Through this gesture, he wanted to unravel the mystery of the will of a man, Sacha Barguigne, from a community of Old Believers, who decided to settle there his family more than thirty years ago with the hope of Live in peace, in the most complete autarky, and build a model of self-sufficient life. Very quickly, however, this paradise becomes the scene of an open conflict between two families that can not cohabit, that is to say, to agree on a common account of existence. The failure of a possible community will form the central axis of Clément Cogitore’s film, photographic and sound work.
Plunged into the darkness, the installation at the BAL immerses the visitor, in the heart of a narrative in action, in which each film fragment reveals itself as a piece of intrigue, with unity of time, place and action: l Arrival in Braguino by helicopter, Sacha’s dream, a bear hunt, the mysterious island where children are left to their own devices; Finally, the rise in the intensity of a threat of armed conflict. All this projects us into an increasingly crepuscular world, as evidenced by the great luminous photographs with the dull tones that mark this crossing.
With forgings the elements of a very archaic dramaturgy evoking the conflictual construction of the great myths, Braguino recounts the experience of a double impossibility: that of flee and that of remaining, that is to say to compose with the Other , The cursed part of oneself. Beyond a simple ethnographic study, Clement Cogitore delivers here a cruel tale “revealing a moment of rocking of our civilization”. If this world is doomed to disappear, what is this signal?
Diane Dufour and Léa Bismuth

Designed with the graphic designers José Albergaria and Rik Bas Backer (Change is good), the book combines the chapters of this cruel tale, the images of the dream of isolation and communion with nature gradually darkening towards crepuscular images Of a world threatened on all sides. The texts of Léa Bismuth (interview with Clément Cogitore) and Bertrand Schefer illuminate Clément Cogitore’s intention and return to the scope of the bankruptcy of the community idea.

Coproducer
LE BAL, l’ADAGP, Ministère de la Culture et du Cercle des 100 Amis mécènes du BAL
Released
14/09/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
195 x 260
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
125 photos colors
208 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-431-2
Buy
Press review

Braguino

Ou la Communauté impossible

Clément Cogitore

Artiste, Cinéaste, Photographe

After studying at the Ecole Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Strasbourg, and at the Fresnoy – National Studio of Contemporary Arts, Clément Cogitore develops a practice halfway between cinema and contemporary art. Combining films, videos, installations and photographs, his work carries with him a powerful questioning on the making of images, the active part of their appearances in human constructions. It is for him to portray the relation we can maintain to the sacred, to its ritualized dimension, in and by a look at the world and its enigma: the original night of cinema joins the secret night of our facts and gestures. His work is therefore at the same time a reflection on the visibility, the place of man in the world that he shapes, and his political anchoring in the spaces that condition him. In 2015, for example, his first feature film, Ni le ciel Ni la terre, was a fictional metaphysical quest in a world at war. It is in this perspective that one must also discover Braguino or the impossible community: Cogitore describes points of tipping between thresholds of civilization and belief.

After studying art history and philosophy at the Sorbonne, Léa Bismuth wrote in Artpress in 2006. From 2013 – while continuing to work with institutions like Les Beaux-Arts in Paris, Le Fresnoy or LE BAL; and to write in exhibition catalogs – she sets up her approach as curator by adapting literary and philosophical texts to the format of the exhibition: she draws her inspiration, which she confronts artists of her time in a logic in the works of Derrida, Aragon, Duras, Barthes, Benjamin or Blanqui (notably the commissariats for The New Waves of the Palais de Tokyo 2013, the CAC La Traverse 2015, the URDLA Focus Resonance Biennale de Lyon 2015; Tanneries d’Amilly and Les Rencontres d’Arles in 2017). It is in 2016 that it makes visible a vast program of curatorial research in Labanque de Béthune, a trilogy of exhibitions thought from the complete works of Georges Bataille: La Traversée des Inquiétudes (Expenditure – 2016, Intérorités – 2017, Vertiges – 2018).

Bertrand Schefer is a French writer, director and translator born in 1972 in Paris. After studying philosophy, he dedicated his first works to the rediscovery of founding texts of the Italian Renaissance on the origin of the visual arts. He has translated several Italian texts, including Quid sit lumen by Marsile Ficin in 1998 and Giacomo Leopardi’s Zibaldone in 20031, for which he won the Prix Italiques2.
Writer, screenwriter, actor, he co-directed with Valérie Mréjen his first feature, En ville, selected for the Directors’ Fortnight in Cannes in 2011.

Braguino

Ou la Communauté impossible
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino
  • Braguino

Braguino

Ou la Communauté impossible

Clément Cogitore a été en 2015 le premier lauréat du PRIX LE BAL DE LA JEUNE CREATION AVEC l’ADAGP. Ce Prix a pour vocation d’accompagner pendant deux ans la réalisation d’un projet de création s’inscrivant dans le spectre large de l’image-document, fixe et en mouvement, questionnant notre expérience humaine. Braguino ou la communauté impossible fait l’objet du 15 septembre au 23 décembre 2017 d’une installation au BAL et d’un livre co-édité par LE BAL et les Filigranes Éditions. Clément Cogitore s’est rendu en 2016 à Braguino, du nom de la famille vivant dans quelques cabanes de bois perdues au fond de la Taïga sibérienne, à 700 km de toute présence humaine. Par ce geste, il souhaitait percer le mystère de la volonté d’un homme, Sacha Barguigne, issu d’une communauté de Vieux Croyants, qui décida d’installer là sa famille il y a plus de trente ans, avec l’espoir de vivre en paix, dans l’autarcie la plus complète, et de construire un modèle de vie autosuffisant. Très rapidement pourtant, ce paradis devient la scène d’un conflit ouvert entre deux familles ne parvenant pas à cohabiter, c’est-à-dire à s’accorder sur un récit commun d’existence. L’échec d’une communauté possible composera l’axe central du travail filmique, photographique et sonore de Clément Cogitore.
Plongée dans l’obscurité, l’installation au BAL immerge le visiteur, au coeur d’un récit en actes, où chaque fragment filmique se révèle une pièce de l’intrigue, avec unité de temps, de lieu et d’action : l’arrivée à Braguino en hélicoptère, le rêve de Sacha, une chasse à l’ours, l’île mystérieuse où se réfugient des enfants livrés à eux-mêmes; enfin, la montée en intensité d’une menace de conflit armé. Tout cela nous projette dans un monde de plus en plus crépusculaire, comme en témoignent les grandes photographies lumineuses aux tonalités sourdes qui jalonnent cette traversée.
Avec pour aiguillons les éléments d’une dramaturgie très archaïque évoquant la construction conflictuelle des grands mythes, Braguino relate l’expérience d’une double impossibilité : celle de fuir et celle de rester, c’est-à dire de composer avec l’Autre, la part maudite de soi. Au-delà d’une simple étude ethnographique, Clément Cogitore livre ici un conte cruel « révélateur d’un instant de bascule de notre civilisation». Si ce monde est voué à disparaître, de quoi cette disparition est-elle le signal ?

Diane Dufour et Léa Bismuth

 

Conçu avec les graphistes José Albergaria et Rik Bas Backer (Change is good), le livre égrène les chapitres de ce conte cruel, les images du rêve d’isolement et de communion avec la nature s’assombrissant peu à peu inéluctablement vers les images crépusculaires d’un monde menacé de toutes parts. Les textes de Léa Bismuth (entretien avec Clément Cogitore) et de Bertrand Schefer éclairent l’intention de Clément Cogitore et reviennent sur la portée de la faillite de l’idée communautaire.

 

Co-production
LE BAL, l’ADAGP, Ministère de la Culture et du Cercle des 100 Amis mécènes du BAL
Parution
14/09/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
195 x 260
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
125 photographies en couleurs
208 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-431-2
Commander

Clément Cogitore

Artiste, Cinéaste, Photographe

Après des études à l’Ecole Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs de Strasbourg, et au Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains, Clément Cogitore développe une pratique à mi-chemin entre cinéma et art contemporain. Mêlant films, vidéos, installations et photographies, son travail porte en lui un puissant questionnement sur la fabrication des images, la part active de leurs apparitions dans les constructions humaines. Il s’agit pour lui de mettre en scène le rapport que nous pouvons entretenir au sacré, à sa dimension ritualisée, dans et par un regard porté sur le monde et son énigme : la nuit originelle du cinéma rejoint la nuit secrète de nos faits et gestes. Son œuvre est donc à la fois porteuse d’une réflexion sur la visibilité, la place de l’homme dans le monde qu’il façonne, et son ancrage politique dans les espaces qui le conditionnent. Ainsi, en 2015, son premier long métrage Ni le ciel Ni la terre mettait en scène, par la fiction, une quête métaphysique de sens dans un monde en guerre. C’est dans cette perspective qu’il faut aussi découvrir Braguino ou la communauté impossible : Cogitore décrit des points de bascule entre des seuils de civilisation et de croyance.

Après des études d’histoire de l’art et de philosophie à la Sorbonne, Léa Bismuth écrit dans Artpress dès 2006. À partir de 2013 — tout en continuant à travailler avec des institutions comme Les Beaux-Arts de Paris, Le Fresnoy ou LE BAL ; et à écrire dans des catalogues d’exposition — elle met en place sa démarche de commissaire en adaptant des textes littéraires et philosophiques au format de l’exposition : elle puise notamment son inspiration, qu’elle confronte aux artistes de son temps dans une logique d’écriture collective, dans les œuvres de Derrida, Aragon, Duras, Barthes, Benjamin ou Blanqui (notamment commissariats pour Les Nouvelles Vagues du Palais de Tokyo 2013 ; Le CAC La Traverse 2015 ; L’URDLA Focus Résonance Biennale de Lyon 2015 ; Les Tanneries d’Amilly et Les Rencontres d’Arles en 2017 ). C’est en 2016 qu’elle rend visible un vaste programme de recherche curatoriale à Labanque de Béthune, une trilogie d’expositions pensée à partir des œuvres complètes de Georges Bataille : La Traversée des Inquiétudes (Dépenses – 2016 ; Intériorités – 2017 ; Vertiges – 2018).

Bertrand Schefer est un écrivain, réalisateur et traducteur français né en 1972 à Paris. Après des études de philosophie, il consacre ses premiers travaux à la redécouverte de textes fondateurs de la Renaissance italienne sur l’origine des arts visuels. Il a ainsi traduit plusieurs textes de l’italien, dont Quid sit lumen de Marsile Ficin en 1998 et le Zibaldone de Giacomo Leopardi en 20031 pour lequel il a été lauréat du prix Italiques2.

Écrivain, scénariste, acteur, il a coréalisé avec Valérie Mréjen son premier long métrage, En ville, sélectionné pour la Quinzaine des réalisateurs à Cannes en 2011.