Fall 2020, Frédéric Stucin, photographer, pushes the door of the little cafète, in Niort. Attached to the hospital psychiatry pole, the place is a place of care where patients who wish come to spend a moment, have a drink, eat an ice cream, follow a match on TV, chat with each other or with the caregivers . One week a month, the photographer will offer them to create, together, “real dream portraits”. A photograph that tells them, which says what you want to say of yourself, at that time. The bet of this project is that the outside gaze is no longer an impediment, but on the contrary the opportunity for a sharing. That patients show instead of being looked at.

 

“To what we are” is the fruit of this immersion, organized on the initiative of Villa Pérochon, center of contemporary photographic art located in Niort, and one of the psychiatric services of the hospital. Between the portraits are inserted from the views of the places, little cafète and psychiatric unit as a whole, as well as amazing photographs of archives found in the boxes of the service.

The Villa Pérochon, a center of contemporary photographic art, recognized of national interest by the Ministry of Culture and one of the psychiatric services of the Niort hospital invite a photographer in creation/mediation residence. In immersion within the P’tite Cafète, a place of conviviality within the hospital, accessible on prescription, the artist will meet with patients essential actors of this project. The little cafète is a place conducive to meeting and social experiences. It works like an associative bar. It is a enough secure place of care for the other’s experience to take place.
Exhibition at Villa Pérochon in Niort, from April 29 to September 2, 2022. Two other 2022/2023 exhibitions at the Stimultania gallery in Strasbourg then at the Nicéphore Niépce museum in Chalon sur Saône.

Coproducer
Villa Pérochon - Niort
Released
05/05/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
235 x 290
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
75 photos colors
104 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-561-6
Buy

Frédéric Strucc is a photographer since 2002. He collaborates with many media and institutions and pursues a personal artistic work, which mixes imaginary and real. His last book, La Source (Maison CF, 2021) is an exploration of the banks of the Seine at the first deconformation. Endorphine (Filigranes, 2021) embarks on the heart of illegal sports training during the sanitary crisis. Only Bleeding (editions of the spout in the air, 2019), is the story in pictures of a poetic wandering in the streets of Las Vegas. His photographs have been the subject of several exhibitions, including the Nicephore Museum Niépce de Chalon-sur-Saône, in the French Art Center in Brussels, at Villa Perochon in Niort, at the Gallery Vu in Paris.

Ondine Millot

Auteur, Journaliste

Independent journalist after sixteen years in Liberation, Ondine Millot specialized in the literary story of true stories. She collaborates with several magazines and published four books. Le Candidat idéal (Stock, 2021) tells the genesis of an attempt to murder between lawyers. Les Monstres n’existent pas (Stock, 2018) is a survey resulting from interviews with Dominique Cottrez, mother infanticide. L’Amour à mort (Steinkis, 2013), traces twenty stories of domestic violence and Esclavage domestique (Filigranes, 2006, with Photographer Raphaël Dallaporta) Fifteen care of abused home employees.

Automne 2020, Frédéric Stucin, photographe, pousse la porte de la P’tite Cafète, à Niort. Accolé au pôle psychiatrie de l’hôpital, l’endroit est un lieu de soin où les patients qui le souhaitent viennent passer un moment, boire un verre, manger une glace, suivre un match à la télé, discuter entre eux ou avec les soignants. Une semaine par mois, le photographe va leur proposer de créer, ensemble, de “vrais portraits rêvés”. Une photographie qui les raconte, qui dit ce que l’on a envie de dire de soi, à ce moment-là. Le pari de ce projet est que le regard extérieur ne soit plus un empêchement, mais au contraire l’occasion d’un partage. Que les patients donnent à voir au lieu d’être regardés.

“À ce que nous sommes” est le fruit de cette immersion, organisée à l’initiative de la Villa Pérochon, centre d’art contemporain photographique situé à Niort, et de l’un des services psychiatriques de l’hôpital. Entre les portraits s’intercalent des vues des lieux, P’tite Cafète et unité psychiatrique dans son ensemble, ainsi que d’étonnantes photographies d’archives retrouvées dans les cartons du service.

 

La Villa Pérochon, centre d’art contemporain photographique, reconnu d’intérêt national par le ministère de la culture et un des services psychiatriques de l’hôpital de Niort invitent un.e artiste photographe en résidence de création/médiation. En immersion au sein de la P’tite Cafète, lieu de convivialité au sein de l’hôpital, accessible sur prescription, l’artiste ira à la rencontre des patients acteurs incontournables de ce projet. La P’tite Cafète est un lieu propice à la rencontre et aux expériences sociales. Elle fonctionne comme un bar associatif. C’est un lieu de soins suffisamment sécurisant pour que l’expérience de l’autre puisse avoir lieu.
Exposition à la Villa Pérochon à Niort, du 29 avril au 2 septembre 2022. Deux autres expositions 2022/2023 à la galerie Stimultania à Strasbourg puis au Musée Nicéphore Niépce à Chalon sur Saône.

Co-production
Villa Pérochon - Niort
Parution
05/05/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
235 x 290
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée et toilée
75 photographies en couleurs
104 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-561-6
Commander

Frédéric Stucin est photographe depuis 2002. Il collabore avec de nombreux médias et institutions et poursuit un travail artistique personnel, qui mêle imaginaire et réel. Son dernier ouvrage, La Source (Maison CF, 2021) est une exploration des berges de la Seine au premier déconfinement. Endorphine (Filigranes, 2021) embarque au cœur d’entraînements sportifs clandestins, pendant la crise sanitaire. Only Bleeding (Éditions du Bec en l’air, 2019), est le récit en images d’une errance poétique dans les rues de Las Vegas. Ses photographies ont fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions, notamment avec le musée Nicéphore Niépce de Chalon-sur-Saône, au Hangar Photo Art Center à Bruxelles, à la Villa Pérochon à Niort, à la galerie Vu’ à Paris.

Ondine Millot

Auteur, Journaliste

Journaliste indépendante après seize années à Libération, Ondine Millot s’est spécialisée dans le récit littéraire d’histoires vraies. Elle collabore à plusieurs magazines et a publié quatre ouvrages. Le Candidat idéal (Stock, 2021) raconte la genèse d’une tentative de meurtre entre avocats. Les Monstres n’existent pas (Stock, 2018) est une enquête issue d’entretiens avec Dominique Cottrez, mère infanticide. L’Amour à mort (Steinkis, 2013), retrace vingt histoires de violence conjugale et Esclavage domestique (Filigranes, 2006, avec le photographe Raphaël Dallaporta) quinze parcours d’employés à domicile maltraités.