Three photographers looked at the city of Saint-Etienne: the investigation they conducted focused on the syntax and morphology of the frame as it can be observed in the city. Nothing “normative” so in this “grammar of shapes”. On the contrary, it was to consider the very variety of management gestures that could be detected in the city. This makes the mark of major projects planned with the structuring effects (which has been put in place in time), but also less concerted interventions arising from the effects of liberalism, withdrawal phenomena or Abandonment related to the economic recession, or individual initiatives of low empan, most often done with rudimentary means. All these development actions, in their own diversity, come up with right in the “grammar” of the city of Saint-Étienne – which can only be seen by variety and wealth.

At the origin of this book, the bet was that, of the crossing of these three looks and the writings which accompany them, a questioning, a plurality of observations would be likely to develop on the architectural and urbanistic wealth of Saint- Étienne.

Released
08/04/2021
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
305 x 220
Français
Reliure suisse cartonnée
117 photos colors
128 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-527-2
Buy

Éric Tabuchi

Photographe

Éric Tabuchi was born in Paris in 1959. furrowing a territory that extends over a radius of about 250 km around Paris, it photography empty peri-urban landscapes of human presence that seem to belong to the large areas of Western American.

Jordi Ballesta

Photographe

Jordi Ballesta is photographer a researcher in landscaped photography and studies, attached to CIEREC (Jean Monnet University) and UMR Larca (Paris-Diderot University).

Guillaume Bonnel

Photographe

Guillaume Bonnel is a doctor of environmental law and photographer. A member of the collective “Eye Surveyor” and “France, Liquid Territory”, he shares his activity between personal researches devoted to the landscape as a social fact (Ortheses, Arp2, 2017) and commands that weave links between photography and territorial projects (Landscape Photographic Observatories). He is also the author of various articles on the links between photography and spatial planning.

Danièle Méaux is a specialist in contemporary photography and professor in aesthetics and art sciences at the University of Saint-Etienne. She is the author of Photography and Time (PUP, 1997), Travel Photographers (PUSE, 2009), Geo-photographs. A renewed approach to the territory (Filigranes, 2015) and Surveys. New forms of documentary photography (Filigranes, 2019). She directed the number 334 of the Journal of Human Sciences: The forms of inquiry. She is also editor-in-chief of the journal Focales: www.focales.eu

Trois photographes ont porté leur regard sur la ville de Saint-Etienne : l’investigation qu’ils ont conduite s’est focalisée sur la syntaxe et la morphologie du bâti tel qu’il peut être observé dans la cité. Rien de « normatif » donc dans cette « grammaire de formes ». Il s’agissait bien au contraire de prendre en considération la variété même des gestes d’aménagement susceptibles d’être décelés au sein de la ville. Celle-ci porte de fait la marque de grands projets planifiés aux effets structurants (dont la mise en place s’est échelonnée dans le temps), mais aussi d’interventions moins concertées découlant des effets du libéralisme, de phénomènes de retrait ou d’abandon liés à la récession économique, ou encore d’initiatives individuelles de faible empan, le plus souvent effectuées avec des moyens rudimentaires. Toutes ces actions d’aménagement, dans leur diversité même, entrent de plein droit dans la « grammaire » de la ville de Saint-Étienne ‒ dont on ne peut que constater la variété et la richesse.

À l’origine de ce livre, le pari était que, du croisement de ces trois regards et des écrits qui les accompagnent, un questionnement, une pluralité d’observations seraient susceptibles de se développer au sujet de la richesse architecturale et urbanistique de Saint-Étienne.

Parution
08/04/2021
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
305 x 220
Français
Reliure suisse cartonnée
117 photographies en couleurs
128 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-527-2
Commander

Éric Tabuchi

Photographe

Éric Tabuchi est né à Paris en 1959. Sillonnant un territoire qui s’étend sur un rayon d’environ 250 km autour de Paris, il photographie des paysages périurbains vides de présence humaine qui semblent appartenir aux grands espaces de l’Ouest américain.

Jordi Ballesta

Photographe

Jordi Ballesta est photographe et chercheur en photographie et en études paysagères, rattaché au CIEREC (Université Jean Monnet) et à l’UMR Larca (Université Paris-Diderot).

Guillaume Bonnel

Photographe

Guillaume Bonnel est docteur en droit de l’environnement et photographe. Membre des collectifs l’ « Œil arpenteur » et « France.s, Territoire liquide », il partage son activité entre des recherches personnelles consacrées au paysage saisi comme un fait social (Orthèses, Arp2, 2017) et des commandes qui tissent des liens entre photographie et projets de territoires (Observatoires photographiques du paysage). Il est par ailleurs auteur de divers articles sur les liens entre photographie et aménagement du territoire.

Danièle Méaux est spécialiste de la photographie contemporaine et professeur en esthétique et sciences de l’art à l’université de Saint-Étienne. Elle est l’auteur de La Photographie et le temps (PUP, 1997), Voyages de photographes (PUSE, 2009), Géo-photographies. Une approche renouvelée du territoire (Filigranes, 2015) et Enquêtes. Nouvelles formes de photographie documentaire (Filigranes, 2019). Elle a dirigé le numéro 334 de la Revue des Sciences Humaines : Les formes de l’enquête. Elle est également rédacteur en chef de la revue Focales : www.focales.eu