Since he began photography in 2001, Ali Taptik engages in chronic mid-fictional, semi-autobiographical account of his own life in Istanbul. Through his portraits of people or places, he reinvents special atmosphere, its own history …
In this series started in 2004, Ali Taptik explores possible links between accident and destiny – hence the title Kaza ve Kader. Between the element of chance and fate, he questioned the action of man on the course of his life. His work is in a dialectic of opposites, in a thin gap between the inside and outside, between the private and the public.
Inner space, outside space, whose boundaries are blurred, in which he sailed in an incessant comings and goings. Photographs of Ali Taptik so are windows on the world inside a mirror.
Released
10/11/2009
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
200 x 245
Broché
46 color photos
88 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-185-4
Buy
Ali Taptik Born in 1983 in Istanbul where he lives. Graduated in architecture, it is self-taught in photography. During the days of photographic Istanbul is acknowledged "young talent of the Turkish photography. Noticed by the workshop first hand in 2004 at the Rencontres d’Arles, he was invited home to Marseille in 2005. The work done during the residency confirms his talent and maturity. Ali Taptik book work and vision led to the city to its roots.
Christian Caujolle (born 1953) is a founder and artistic director of Agence VU, he was also appointed Artistic Director of the Galerie VU created in 1998 by Abvent.
Former student of the Ecole Normale Superieure de Saint-Cloud. Student and collaborator of Michel Foucault, Roland Barthes, Pierre Bourdieu.

Depuis qu’il a débuté en photographie en 2001, Ali Taptik se livre à une chronique mi-fictionnelle, mi-autobiographique de sa propre vie à Istanbul. A travers ses portraits de personnes ou de lieux, il réinvente dans une atmosphère particulière, sa propre histoire…
Dans cette série débutée en 2004, Ali Taptik explore les possibles liens entre Accident et Destin – d’où le titre  Kaza ve Kader. Entre la part de hasard, et la fatalité, il interroge l’action de l’homme sur le cours de sa propre vie. Son travail se situe dans une dialectique des contraires, dans un interstice mince entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur, entre l’intime et le public.
Espace du dedans, espace du dehors, dont les frontières sont floues, dans lequel il navigue dans un incessant va-et-vient. Les photographies d’Ali Taptik sont tout autant des fenêtres sur le monde qu’un miroir intérieur.
Parution
10/11/2009
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
200 x 245
Broché
46 photographies en couleur
88 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-185-4
Commander
Ali Taptik Né en 1983 à Istanbul où il vit. Diplomé en architecture, il est autodidacte en matière de photographie. Lors des journées photographiques d’Istanbul il est reconnu “jeune talent de la photographie turque“. Remarqué par l’atelier de visu en 2004 lors des Rencontres d’Arles, il est invité en résidence à Marseille en 2005. Le travail réalisé au cours de cette résidence confirme son talent et sa maturité. Ali Taptik livre un travail abouti et une vision de la ville tout en profondeur.
Christian Caujolle (né en 1953) est l’un des fondateurs et le directeur artistique de l’Agence VU, il a également été nommé Directeur artistique de la Galerie VU créée par Abvent en 1998.
Ancien élève de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure de Saint-Cloud. Elève et collaborateur de Michel Foucault, Roland Barthes, Pierre Bourdieu.