“I found photos of his childhood in the Lone barn, of him little with his brother playing in the river.
After his baccalaureate, he wanted to travel, by the way. He left for Latin America, Peru. He met his wife with whom he returned to France.
In the desire for a better life he settled in the Couserans 40 years ago.

Its history like that of all those I met, reveals to me that this territory is a corner of France that has been built since the trip. The crusades of the Middle Ages, crossings to Spain, the Spanish who came to France, those who came to settle in search of freedom, those who were born here and grew up in their valleys.
We arrived from Chile, a country that is at a limit in the world.
When you arrive in Chile it is a terminus. You have to stay or leave in the other direction. As in the Couserans, going up in the valleys the roads are without outlets. Once in front of the mountains you have to stay or turn around.
I grew up in France following the exile of my parents, therefore my intimate territory fed on the two cultures: the French and the Chilean. ”

RGR

Released
19/09/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
230 x 300
Français
Broché
47 photos duotone
64 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-590-6
Buy

“If he remains attached to the documentary dimensión of his work, this Chilean exiled in France with his family at the time of the dictatorship always gives them a literary dimensión. Because, final, time and memory are at the heart of his preocupations and Guide the assemblies of images which he develops as stories in turn poetic and narrative, emotional and descriptive. The book is quite naturally the provilègié mode of expression of the one who founded in 2010 the Internacional Festival of Fotografía de Valparaíso ( FIFV), where it welcomes artists in residence and one of the originalities of which is to give a large place to the edition and to be itself an editor. ” Christian Caujolle.

Anamaría Briede Westermeyer, visual artist and poet. He was born in Valparaíso, Chile, February 15, 1971.

Christian Caujolle

Auteur, Critique d'art

Christian Caujolle Artistic Advisor – Galerie Le Château d’Eau, he is also a journalist, critic and independent exhibition commissioner. After having been editor -in -chief in charge of photography at the daily Liberation, he created in 1986 the agency Vu ’. Artistic director of Arles Meetings in 1997 and numerous festivals (Cambodia, Immainssinières, etc.), he is a member of many international juries and has published a large number of works.

“J’ai trouvé dans la grange de Loone des photos de son enfance, de lui petit avec son frère en train de jouer dans la rivière.
Après son BAC, il a eu envie de voyage, d’ailleurs. Il est parti en Amérique Latine, au Pérou. Il a rencontré sa femme avec qui il est revenu en France.
Dans le désir d’une vie meilleure il s’est installé au Couserans, il y a 40 ans.

Son histoire comme celle de tous ceux que j’ai rencontrés, me révèle que ce territoire est un coin de la France qui se construit depuis le voyage. Les croisades du moyen âge, les traversées vers l’Espagne, les espagnols qui sont venus en France, ceux et celles qui sont venus s’installer à la recherche de liberté, ceux et celles qui sont nés ici et ont grandi dans leurs vallées.
Nous, nous sommes arrivés du Chili, un pays qui se trouve à une limite du monde.
Lorsque l’on arrive au Chili c’est un terminus. Il faut rester ou repartir dans l’autre sens. Comme dans le Couserans, en montant dans les vallées les routes sont sans issues. Une fois face aux montagnes Il faut rester ou faire demi-tour.
J’ai grandi en France suite à l’exil de mes parents, de ce fait mon territoire intime se nourri des deux cultures : la française et la chilienne.”

RGR

Parution
19/09/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
230 x 300
Français
Broché
47 photographies en bichromie
64 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-590-6
Commander

“S’il reste attaché à la dimensión documentaire de ses travaux, ce Chilien exilé en France avec sa famille au momento de la dictature leur confère toujours une dimensión littéraire. Car, finalmente, le temps et la mémoire sont au coeur de ses préocupations et guident les assemblages d’images qu’il élabore comme des récits tour à tour poétiques et narratifs, émotionnels et descriptifs. Le livre est tout naturellement le mode d’expression provilègié de celui qui a fondé en 2010 le Festival Internacional de Fotografía de Valparaíso (FIFV), où il accueille des artistas en résidence et dont l’une des originalités est de donner une large place à l’édition et d’être lui-même éditeur.” Christian Caujolle.

Anamaría Briede Westermeyer, artiste plasticienne et poète. Il est né à Valparaíso, au Chili, le 15 février 1971.

Christian Caujolle

Auteur, Critique d'art

Christian Caujolle Conseiller artistique – Galerie le château d’eau, il est par ailleurs journaliste, critique et commissaire d’expositions indépendant. Après avoir été rédacteur en chef chargé de la photographie au quotidien Libération, il crée en 1986 l’Agence VU’. Directeur artistique des Rencontres d’Arles en 1997 puis de nombreux festivals (Cambodge, ImagesSingulières, etc.) , il est membre de nombreux jurys internationaux et a publié un grand nombre d’ouvrages.