Autoportrait

  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait

Autoportrait

I recall that during a pleasant discussion of photography, Edouard Boubat had told me: finally, we photographers, we tirelessly turn around the same photograph, a kind of perfect image, a grail that we do not, Ever, and which would be an ideal self-portrait.

The great American portraitist Richard Avedon also said: in my portraits, the other is the mirror of my own states of mind.

 

I think that any photograph is a self-portrait, more or less successful.
This is true of portraits. The other is a mirror for the photographer.

 

This book brings together some sixty portraits, known or anonymous people, from Africa, Asia, France, my village or my family … sixty very beautiful memories, some sixty people with whom I I found myself, with whom I share a certain number of values ​​and who therefore realize, collectively and without much knowledge, a self-portrait! …

Released
28/03/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 300
Français
Broché
62 photos duotone
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-412-1
Press review

Autoportrait

Special edition* prints accompanied by a photographic print signed by Bernard Descamps.

* Possible choice between two photographs, each drawn at 25 copies: silver prints on baryta paper 18 x 24 cm made by Bernard Descamps.
  • Autoportrait
    Photo #1
  • Autoportrait
    Photo #2

Autoportrait

Bernard Descamps

Photographe

Born in Paris in 1947.
PhD in Biology, he became a photographer in the early 1970s.
He is now represented by the Camera Obscura Gallery and was one of the founding photographers of Agence VU in 1985. He works mainly on the choice of framing in the shot, in square format, going against Of the “academic” rules of composition. His main works are in black and white, notably on Africa. He captures those moments when reality is mingled with his imagination. He exhibited with André Kertesz (his “master”), at the Leverkusen Museum in 1976 … Publications at Filigranes editions: Autoportrait, Où sont passés nos rêves ?. Ici même, Quelques Afriques, Lady Land, Silences, Evening Land, Japon, Berbère, Le don du fleuve.

Autoportrait

  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait
  • Autoportrait

Autoportrait

Je me souviens que lors d’une agréable discussion sur la photographie, Edouard Boubat m’avait dit : finalement nous, les photographes, nous tournons inlassablement autour d’une même photographie, une sorte  d’image parfaite, un graal que nous n’atteignons jamais, et qui serait un autoportrait idéal.

Le grand portraitiste américain Richard Avedon disait aussi : dans mes portraits, l’autre est le miroir de mes propres états d’âme.

 

Je pense qu’en effet, toute photographie est un autoportrait, plus ou moins abouti.
Il en va ainsi pour les portraits. L’autre est un miroir pour le photographe.

 

Ce livre réunit une soixantaine de portraits,  de gens connus ou anonymes, d’Afrique, d’Asie, de France, de mon village ou de ma famille…une soixantaine de très beaux souvenirs, une soixantaine de personnes avec lesquelles je me suis retrouvé, avec qui je partage un certain nombre de valeurs et qui réalisent donc, collectivement et sans trop le savoir, un autoportrait !…

Parution
28/03/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
210 x 300
Français
Broché
62 photographies en bichromie
96 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-412-1
Revue de presse

Autoportrait

Tirage de tête* numérotés accompagnés d’un tirage photographique signé par Bernard Descamps. * Choix possible entre deux photographies, chacune tirée à 25 exemplaires : tirages argentiques sur papier baryté 18 x 24 cm réalisés par Bernard Descamps.
  • Autoportrait
    Photo #1
  • Autoportrait
    Photo #2

Bernard Descamps

Photographe

Né à Paris en 1947.

Doctorant en Biologie, il devient photographe au début des années 70.

Il est aujourd’hui représenté par la Galerie Camera Obscura et il a été un des photographes fondateurs de l’Agence VU en 1985. Il travaille essentiellement sur le choix de cadrage à la prise de vue, en format carré, allant à l’encontre des règles «académiques» de composition. Ses principaux travaux sont en noir et blanc, notamment sur l’Afrique. Il capte ces instants où la réalité se mêle à son imaginaire. Il a notamment exposé avec André Kertesz (son « maitre »), au musée de Leverkusen en 1976… Publications chez Filigranes éditions : Autoportrait, Où sont passés nos rêves ?. Ici même, Quelques Afriques, Lady Land, Silences, Evening Land, Japon, Berbère, Le don du fleuve.