The new book by Bernard Descamps, entitled natura, in tribute to the first naturalistic trials of antiquity, is the result of a patient work, a long quest for images of nature. Not spectacular images from the end of the world, but merely touching images of the nature that is so close to us that we neglect so often.
The formal beauty of the skyline between sea and sky, or that of a snowy mountain, triangle of black and white, the vertical elegance of a hundred-year-old tree or that of a flight of cranes in the sky Lorraine.

Four chapters, black and white photographs, images made of rocks, rough or smooth barks, water, clouds, light and wind … an approach to emptiness and fullness, balances and silence.
Poetry to save us.

Released
10/10/2019
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
240 x 300
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
73 photos duotone
144 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-485-5
Limited edition drawn with 80 numbered copies accompanied by a photographic print drawn and signed by Bernard Descamps.
Choice of four photographs, each drawn in 20 copies: silver prints 20 x 20 cm, on 24 x 24 cm baryta paper.
  • Natura
    Photo #1
  • Natura
    Photo #2
  • Natura
    Photo #3
  • Natura
    Photo #4

Bernard Descamps

Photographe

Born in Paris in 1947.
PhD in Biology, he became a photographer in the early 1970s.
He is now represented by the Camera Obscura Gallery and was one of the founding photographers of Agence VU in 1985. He works mainly on the choice of framing in the shot, in square format, going against Of the “academic” rules of composition. His main works are in black and white, notably on Africa. He captures those moments when reality is mingled with his imagination. He exhibited with André Kertesz (his “master”), at the Leverkusen Museum in 1976 … Publications at Filigranes editions: Autoportrait, Où sont passés nos rêves ?. Ici même, Quelques Afriques, Lady Land, Silences, Evening Land, Japon, Berbère, Le don du fleuve.

Maria Spiegel is Director of the “Situation Kunst” Foundation in Bochum, Germany.

Le nouveau livre de Bernard Descamps, intitulé natura, en hommage aux premiers essais naturalistes de l’antiquité, est le fruit d’un patient travail, d’une longue quête d’images de la nature. Non pas des images spectaculaires du bout du monde, mais des images simplement touchantes, de la nature qui nous est si proche et que nous négligeons si souvent.
La beauté formelle de la ligne d’horizon entre mer et ciel, ou celle d’une montagne enneigée, triangle de noir et de blanc, l’élégance verticale d’un arbre centenaire ou celle d’un vol de grues cendrées dans le ciel lorrain.

Quatre chapitres, des photographies en noir et blanc, des images faites de roches, d’écorces rugueuses ou lisses, d’eau, de nuages, de lumière et de vent… une approche du vide et du plein, des équilibres et du silence.
La poésie pour nous sauver.

Parution
10/10/2019
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
240 x 300
Anglais/Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
73 photographies en bichromie
144 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-485-5
Édition limitée tirée à 80 exemplaires numérotés accompagnés d’un tirage photographique tiré et signé par Bernard Descamps. Choix possible entre quatre photographies, chacune tirée à 20 exemplaires : tirages argentiques 20 x 20 cm, sur papier baryté 24 x 24 cm.
  • Natura
    Photo #1
  • Natura
    Photo #2
  • Natura
    Photo #3
  • Natura
    Photo #4

Bernard Descamps

Photographe

Né à Paris en 1947.

Doctorant en Biologie, il devient photographe au début des années 70.

Il est aujourd’hui représenté par la Galerie Camera Obscura et il a été un des photographes fondateurs de l’Agence VU en 1985. Il travaille essentiellement sur le choix de cadrage à la prise de vue, en format carré, allant à l’encontre des règles «académiques» de composition. Ses principaux travaux sont en noir et blanc, notamment sur l’Afrique. Il capte ces instants où la réalité se mêle à son imaginaire. Il a notamment exposé avec André Kertesz (son « maitre »), au musée de Leverkusen en 1976… Publications chez Filigranes éditions : Autoportrait, Où sont passés nos rêves ?. Ici même, Quelques Afriques, Lady Land, Silences, Evening Land, Japon, Berbère, Le don du fleuve.

Maria Spiegel est directrice de la Fondation « Situation Kunst » à Bochum, Allemagne.