Au-delà des apparences

  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences

Au-delà des apparences

For fifty years, Bernard Descamps has explored photography in all its states, from the report to the landscape and the portrait, from black and white to color. A tireless traveler, Descamps went to many countries, meeting populations and their customs (Mali, India, Japan, China, Vietnam, Madagascar, Morocco, etc.).

However, he offers a travel photograph which is mainly that of the inner travel: its images, images, whose purity often approaches abstraction, “do not describe objects or events” but “would like to reveal tiny fragments time “in its own terms.

Coproducer
Musées et Château de Tours, L’Imagerie, Fondation des Treilles
Released
06/10/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
240 x 270
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
210 photos duotone
304 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-582-1

Au-delà des apparences

From this work, it was drawn thirty copies of numbered head, accompanied by an original draw* in 24 x 27 cm format, drawn, numbered and signed by Bernard Descamps.
* Three different photographs each drawn in ten copies. 150 € or the first 5 copies then 250 €
  • Au-delà des apparences
    Photo #1
  • Au-delà des apparences
    Photo #2
  • Au-delà des apparences
    Photo #3
Buy

Bernard Descamps

Photographe

Born in Paris in 1947.
PhD in Biology, he became a photographer in the early 1970s.
He is now represented by the Camera Obscura Gallery and was one of the founding photographers of Agence VU in 1985. He works mainly on the choice of framing in the shot, in square format, going against Of the “academic” rules of composition. His main works are in black and white, notably on Africa. He captures those moments when reality is mingled with his imagination. He exhibited with André Kertesz (his “master”), at the Leverkusen Museum in 1976 … Publications at Filigranes editions: Autoportrait, Où sont passés nos rêves ?. Ici même, Quelques Afriques, Lady Land, Silences, Evening Land, Japon, Berbère, Le don du fleuve.

Héloïse Conésa

Conservatrice

Héloïse Conésa is heritage curator at the National Library of France, in charge of the contemporary photography collection. Photography historian, her university research has more precisely focused on contemporary Spanish photography. She was a commissioner of exhibitions see the video work of Robert Cahen (Mamcs, 2013). With Raphaële Bertho, she is a commissioner of the French landscape exhibition: a photographic adventure (1984-2017), presented at BNF in the fall of 2017.

Au-delà des apparences

  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences
  • Au-delà des apparences

Au-delà des apparences

Depuis cinquante ans, Bernard Descamps explore la photographie dans tous ses états, du reportage au paysage et au portrait, du noir et blanc à la couleur. Voyageur inlassable, Descamps s’est rendu dans de nombreux pays, à la rencontre des populations et de leurs coutumes (Mali, Inde, Japon, Chine, Vietnam, Madagascar, Maroc, etc).

Pour autant propose-t-il une photographie de voyage qui est surtout celle du voyage intérieur : ses images, images, dont la pureté approche souvent l’abstraction, “ne décrivent pas les objets ou les événements » mais « voudraient dévoiler de minuscules fragments du temps” selon ses propres termes.

 

Exposition rétrospective au Château de Tours du 27 octobre 2022 au 16 avril 2023.

Co-production
Musées et Château de Tours, L’Imagerie, Fondation des Treilles
Parution
06/10/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
240 x 270
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
210 photographies en bichromie
304 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-582-1

Au-delà des apparences

De cet ouvrage, il a été tiré trente exemplaires de tête numérotés, accompagnés d’un tirage original* au format 24 x 27 cm, tiré, numéroté et signé par Bernard Descamps. * Trois photographies différentes tirées chacune à dix exemplaires. 150 € pour les 5 premiers exemplaires ensuite 250 €
  • Au-delà des apparences
    Photo #1
  • Au-delà des apparences
    Photo #2
  • Au-delà des apparences
    Photo #3
Commander

Bernard Descamps

Photographe

Né à Paris en 1947.

Doctorant en Biologie, il devient photographe au début des années 70.

Il est aujourd’hui représenté par la Galerie Camera Obscura et il a été un des photographes fondateurs de l’Agence VU en 1985. Il travaille essentiellement sur le choix de cadrage à la prise de vue, en format carré, allant à l’encontre des règles «académiques» de composition. Ses principaux travaux sont en noir et blanc, notamment sur l’Afrique. Il capte ces instants où la réalité se mêle à son imaginaire. Il a notamment exposé avec André Kertesz (son « maitre »), au musée de Leverkusen en 1976… Publications chez Filigranes éditions : Autoportrait, Où sont passés nos rêves ?. Ici même, Quelques Afriques, Lady Land, Silences, Evening Land, Japon, Berbère, Le don du fleuve.

Héloïse Conésa

Conservatrice

Héloïse Conésa est conservatrice du patrimoine à la Bibliothèque nationale de France, en charge de la collection de photographie contemporaine. Historienne de la photographie, ses recherches universitaires ont plus précisément porté sur la photographie espagnole contemporaine. Elle a été commissaire des expositions Entrevoir sur l’œuvre vidéo de Robert Cahen (MAMCS, 2013). Avec Raphaële Bertho, elle est commissaire de l’exposition Paysages français : une aventure photographique (1984-2017), présentée à la BnF à l’automne 2017.