Orientations photographiques

Notes 2020-2022 - Suivi de Réflexions sur le cas Vivian Maier

  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques

Orientations photographiques

Notes 2020-2022 - Suivi de Réflexions sur le cas Vivian Maier

With photographic orientations, Arnaud Claass continues his exploration of real images and mental images. His writing mixes observations from daily life and considerations on the art of seeing. He envisages the diversity of gaze practices as a celebration of things, as journalism or social commitment, as a museum ambition or on the contrary as deliberate indifference towards the artistic institution.

 

Addressing contemporary work as well as pioneering works of historical modernities, he questions the unclassifiable strangeness of photography, his ability to say the enigma of the world, and paradoxically to resist the surge of images. He meditates in passing on recent theoretical texts by authors already on the way to becoming classics.

At the end of the volume, the reflections on the Vivian Maier case offer a careful reading of the photographer’s work, examining its stylistic aspects as well as the exciting problems raised by its revelation and its diffusion.

Released
04/07/2022
Collection
Essai
Format
165 x 240
Français
Broché
176 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-584-5
Buy

Arnaud Claass

Auteur, Photographe

Born in Paris in 1949.
His work is in numerous public and private collections including the Musée National d’Art Moderne (Pompidou Center), the European House of Photography, the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, the National Museum of Fine Arts in Tokyo, Camerawork / Howard Stein Collection in New York.
In addition to his teaching at the ENSP of Arles, he was invited several years at the International Center of Photography (New York) and the Ecole des Arts Appliqués de Vevey.
It is currently at the Institute of Art, Design and Technology in Dublin.

Orientations photographiques

Notes 2020-2022 - Suivi de Réflexions sur le cas Vivian Maier

  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques
  • Orientations photographiques

Orientations photographiques

Notes 2020-2022 - Suivi de Réflexions sur le cas Vivian Maier

Avec Orientations photographiques, Arnaud Claass poursuit son exploration des images réelles et des images mentales. Son écriture mêle des observations tirées de la vie quotidienne et des considérations sur l’art de voir. Il envisage la diversité des pratiques du regard comme célébration des choses, comme journalisme ou engagement social, comme ambition muséale ou au contraire comme indifférence délibérée envers l’institution artistique.

 

Abordant des travaux contemporains aussi bien que des œuvres pionnières des modernités historiques, il questionne l’étrangeté inclassable de la photographie, sa capacité à dire l’énigme du monde, et paradoxalement à résister au déferlement des images. Il médite au passage sur des textes théoriques récents d’auteurs déjà en passe de devenir des classiques.

 

En fin de volume, les Réflexions sur le cas Vivian Maier proposent une lecture attentive de l’œuvre de la photographe, examinant ses aspects stylistiques aussi bien que les problèmes passionnants soulevés par sa révélation et sa diffusion.

Parution
04/07/2022
Collection
Essai
Format
165 x 240
Français
Broché
176 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-584-5
Commander

Arnaud Claass

Auteur, Photographe

Né à Paris en 1949.
Son œuvre figure dans de nombreuses collections publiques et privées, parmi lesquelles le Musée National d’Art Moderne (Centre Pompidou), la Maison Européenne de la Photographie, le Museum of Fine Arts de Houston, le National Museum of Fine Arts de Tokyo, la Camerawork / Howard Stein Collection de New York.
Outre son enseignement à l’E.N.S.P d’Arles, il a été invité plusieurs années à l’International Center of Photography (New York) et à l’Ecole des Arts Appliqués de Vevey.
Il intervient actuellement à l’Institute of Art, Design and Technology de Dublin.