Two books with a thematic approach by Bernard Plossu, collect images around the checkerboard and stripes. Images captured during different déambulations.
 
Damiers/Checkered
The checkering Plossu Bernard does not fully comply with codes of a game. There is always something that resists the establishment of systems, something that carries the disorder and confusion, something which "disorder". It shows and hides at a time. The surface is often seen as uncontrollable, almost elusive. Where to? Where it ends? Where are the empty and full, openings and closings? What is the plan from the bottom and the front? The downstairs and upstairs? Nobody knows who goes, who left, who will come. No one spoke in the street.
Emmanuel Guigon
 
Rayures/Stripes
Italy, France, Morocco, Spain, California, Mexico, where increased Plossu. Of curved or straight trajectories. People alone, who are unaware and do not watch. As in parallel lives.
Except, it seems, in Naples. But the photo, I said I had to be taken just before the shot. The type of back, stopped, put his business on the sidewalk and went off his line. In a moment he will fall on the pile of rubbish left. The killer will swell déguerpir and spinning on his Vespa with the bag of death. Naples and its bad encounters: there never deviate.
François Carrassan
 
Both books are sold together.
Coproducer
Cap, Brest/Imagerie, Lannion/Le Lieu, Lorient
Released
10/10/2008
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
120 x 165
Broché
30 duo tone photos
48 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-154-0
Buy

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Plossu Bernard, born in South Vietnam in 1945, he grew up surrounded by photographs of the desert taken by his father when he went skiing on the dunes of the Sahara in 1937 with Roger Frisian-Roche. Modesty, sensuality, emotion, joy, here is what is the “sap” that already permeate the images of the self that landed in Mexico in 1965 and 1967 to join his grandparents. Travel as a Mexican issue 15 years later its editor Claude Nori. A book that, as the creator of Ed. Contrejour has become a sort of bible for a generation suddenly uninhibited by his freedom of tone and its intimate and poetic vision.

Deux livrets avec une approche thématique de Bernard Plossu, rassemble des images autour des damiers et des rayures. Images saisies au cours de différentes déambulations.
 
Damiers
Les damiers de Bernard Plossu ne se plient pas totalement aux codes d’un jeu de société. Il y a toujours quelque chose qui résiste à l’instauration de systèmes, quelque chose qui porte le trouble et la confusion, quelque chose qui « fait désordre ». Il montre et cache à la fois. La surface apparaît souvent comme incontrôlable, presque insaisissable. Où commence-t-elle ? Où finit-elle ? Où se situent les vides et les pleins, les ouvertures et les fermetures ? Quel est le plan du fond et celui du devant ? Celui du dessous et celui du dessus ? On ne sait qui s’en va, qui est parti, qui va venir. Nul ne parle dans la rue.
Emmanuel Guigon
 
Rayures
En Italie, en France, au Maroc, en Espagne, en Californie, au Mexique, là où est passé Plossu. Des trajectoires courbes ou droites. Des gens seuls, qui s’ignorent et ne se regardent jamais. Comme dans des vies parallèles.
Sauf, semblerait-il, à Naples. Mais la photo, me dis-je, a dû être prise juste avant le coup de feu. Le type de dos, interpellé, a posé ses affaires sur le trottoir et s’est écarté de sa ligne. Dans un instant il va s’effondrer sur le tas d’ordures à gauche. Le tueur va déguerpir et le gandin filer sur sa vespa avec le sac du mort. Naples et ses mauvaises rencontres : n’y jamais dévier.
François Carrassan
 
Ces deux livrets sont vendus ensemble.
Co-production
Cap, Brest/Imagerie, Lannion/Le Lieu, Lorient
Parution
10/10/2008
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
120 x 165
Français
Broché
30 photographies en bichromie
48 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-154-0
Commander

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Bernard Plossu, né au Sud-Vietnam en 1945, il a grandi entouré des photographies de désert prises par son père lorsqu’il partit faire du ski sur les dunes du Sahara en 1937 avec Roger Frison-Roche. Pudeur, sensualité, émotion, gaieté, voici quelle est la « sève » qui irrigue déjà les images de cet autodidacte qui débarque au Mexique en 1965 et 1967 pour y rejoindre ses grands-parents. Un Voyage mexicain que publiera 15 ans plus tard son  éditeur Claude Nori. Un livre qui, selon le créateur des Éd. Contrejour, est devenu une sorte de « bible pour toute une génération » soudain désinhibée par sa liberté de ton et sa vision intime et poétique.