The Granet museum has designed an exhibition devoted to the artist Bernard Plossu on the theme of Italy. A hundred photographs will be exhibited, most of them unpublished, covering the period from the late 1970s to 2017. If the artist is famous for his shots using almost exclusive black and white in 1965, he was able to experiment with color At the whim of its travels through a particular pigmentary process, the Fresson draw, discovered in 1967. These matt prints, known worldwide, give a granular, sweet and almost powdery rendering to its photographs. This magnificent set will be compared with sixty wash, watercolors, different views of the city of Rome and its surroundings made by the emblematic painter of the city of Aix, François-Marius Granet (1775-1849) in the first half of the 19th century. The two artists indeed share the same favorite subjects, this same interest in the eternal city and Italy, for its alleys charged with history, culture, memory, these landscapes suspended in time, urban or natural, imprinted loneliness. The treatment of light, shadows through chiaroscuro washs for the painter and by silver photography for the photographer, the framing, the motifs, everything evokes the strength of this classic theme which becomes an archetype through the centuries.

Coproducer
Musée Granet Aix-en-Provence
Released
05/05/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
250 x 300
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
154 photographies, lavis, aquarelles
192 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-562-3
Buy

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Plossu Bernard, born in South Vietnam in 1945, he grew up surrounded by photographs of the desert taken by his father when he went skiing on the dunes of the Sahara in 1937 with Roger Frisian-Roche. Modesty, sensuality, emotion, joy, here is what is the “sap” that already permeate the images of the self that landed in Mexico in 1965 and 1967 to join his grandparents. Travel as a Mexican issue 15 years later its editor Claude Nori. A book that, as the creator of Ed. Contrejour has become a sort of bible for a generation suddenly uninhibited by his freedom of tone and its intimate and poetic vision.

Bruno Ely

Conservateur

Bruno Ely Historian of art, he has been carrying out numerous research work around the work of Paul Cézanne for over 15 years. Curator of the Tapestry Museum and the Vendôme Pavilion in Aix-en-Provence since 1989, he took over the management of the Granet of Aix-en-Provence Museum in 2008.

Paméla Grimaud

Conservateur

Paméla Grimaud, heritage curator, manager of the Research and Conservation Service at the Granet Museum.

Guillaume Cassegrain, professor of modern art history, Grenoble Alpes University.

Le musée Granet a conçu une exposition consacrée à l’artiste Bernard Plossu sur le thème de l’Italie. Une centaine de photographies seront exposées, la plupart inédites, couvrant la période de la fin des années 70 à 2017. Si l’artiste est célèbre pour ses clichés utilisant de façon quasi exclusive le noir et blanc dès 1965, il a pu expérimenter la couleur au gré de ses voyages à travers un procédé pigmentaire particulier, le tirage Fresson, découvert en 1967. Ces tirages mat au charbon, connus dans le monde entier, donnent un rendu granuleux, doux et presque poudré à ses photographies. Ce magnifique ensemble sera mis en regard avec une soixantaine de lavis, aquarelles, différentes vues de la ville de Rome et de ses alentours réalisées par le peintre emblématique de la ville d’Aix, François-Marius Granet (1775-1849) dans la première moitié du XIXe siècle. Les deux artistes partagent en effet les mêmes sujets de prédilection, ce même intérêt pour la Ville éternelle et l’Italie, pour ses ruelles chargées d’histoire, de culture, de mémoire, ces paysages suspendus dans le temps, urbains ou naturels, empreints de solitude. Le traitement de la lumière, des ombres à travers des lavis en clair-obscur pour le peintre et par la photographie argentique pour le photographe, les cadrages, les motifs, tout évoque la force de ce thème classique qui devient un archétype à travers les siècles.

Co-production
Musée Granet Aix-en-Provence
Parution
05/05/2022
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
250 x 300
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
154 photographies, lavis, aquarelles
192 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-562-3
Commander

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Bernard Plossu, né au Sud-Vietnam en 1945, il a grandi entouré des photographies de désert prises par son père lorsqu’il partit faire du ski sur les dunes du Sahara en 1937 avec Roger Frison-Roche. Pudeur, sensualité, émotion, gaieté, voici quelle est la « sève » qui irrigue déjà les images de cet autodidacte qui débarque au Mexique en 1965 et 1967 pour y rejoindre ses grands-parents. Un Voyage mexicain que publiera 15 ans plus tard son  éditeur Claude Nori. Un livre qui, selon le créateur des Éd. Contrejour, est devenu une sorte de “bible pour toute une génération” soudain désinhibée par sa liberté de ton et sa vision intime et poétique.

Bruno Ely

Conservateur

Bruno Ely Historien de l’art, il mène depuis plus de 15 ans de nombreux travaux de recherche autour de l’œuvre de Paul Cézanne. Conservateur du musée des Tapisseries et du Pavillon de Vendôme à Aix-en-Provence depuis 1989, il prend la direction du musée Granet d’Aix-en-Provence en 2008.

Paméla Grimaud

Conservateur

Paméla Grimaud, Conservateur du patrimoine, responsable du service recherche et conservation du musée Granet.

Guillaume Cassegrain, professeur d’histoire de l’art moderne, université Grenoble Alpes.