“At the beginning of the seventies, passage to Rome, during a cold and rainy winter, no picture of good, I had a wide-angle except two or three in Pompeii silent and empty under the rain …
Later, in 1979, having finally understood the discreet strength of the 50 mm, coming from the highlands of Taos in New Mexico where I lived, I found in Rome Claude Nori, and there, it is the visual shock: is it what living in the desert makes this city fascinates me in comparison?
Let’s say that the images of the American West are often horizontal and those of the streets of Rome are often vertical! and that also impregnates me very strongly the Roman work of Corot, which I think so often over there … Corot who marked me definitively by his sobriety.
The years will pass, until the return to Europe, and I am now under the strong influence of the painting movement called ‘La Scuola Romana’ (Mafai, Scipione, Pirandello, Antonietta Raphael, Afro): wonders that inspire me a lot.
Many visits: Rome attracts me constantly, I go there almost every year and I photograph in disorder, especially nothing systematic or organized! Quarter by district, listening only to my instinct and especially my passion: I am madly in love with this city and, at the same time, with all the small Italian islands where I go as often as possible! “B.P.

Released
15/10/2019
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
200 x 290
Français
Broché avec rabats
340 photos duotone
320 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-483-1
Press review
30 numbered head copies were printed, accompanied by a baryte paper silver print* in 18 x 24 cm, numbered and signed by Bernard Plossu. Draw directed by Guillaume Geneste, laboratory la Chambre Noire, Paris. The whole is gathered in a box. (Delivery from November 1st, 2019)
* Two different photographs each shot at fifteen copies.
  • Roma
    Photo #1
  • Roma
    Photo #2

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Plossu Bernard, born in South Vietnam in 1945, he grew up surrounded by photographs of the desert taken by his father when he went skiing on the dunes of the Sahara in 1937 with Roger Frisian-Roche. Modesty, sensuality, emotion, joy, here is what is the “sap” that already permeate the images of the self that landed in Mexico in 1965 and 1967 to join his grandparents. Travel as a Mexican issue 15 years later its editor Claude Nori. A book that, as the creator of Ed. Contrejour has become a sort of bible for a generation suddenly uninhibited by his freedom of tone and its intimate and poetic vision.

Alain Bergala Filmmaker, essayist, critic at Cahiers du Cinéma, professor at Paris III University, La fémis, curator, he is the author of many books on Roberto Rossellini, Abbas Kiarostami and Jean-Luc Godard. Director of fiction and documentary, he is notably responsible for Faux Fuyants (1982), Cesare Pavese (1995) and Fernand Léger, the reasons for a life (1997).

Patrick Talbot is a former student of the Ecole Normale Supérieure from which he graduated from history and then holds a DEA on pre-Columbian Mexico. He was cultural advisor to the French embassies in the United States and then in Italy and director of the National School of Photography in Arles.

« Au début des années soixante-dix, passage à Rome, pendant un hiver froid et pluvieux ; aucune photo de bonne, j’avais un grand-angle ! sauf deux ou trois à Pompéi silencieuse et vide sous la pluie merveilleuse…
Plus tard, en 1979, ayant enfin compris la force discrète du 50 mm, venant des hauts plateaux de Taos au Nouveau-Mexique ou j’habitais, je retrouve à Rome Claude Nori, et là, c’est le choc visuel : est-ce le fait d’habiter dans le désert qui fait que cette ville me fascine en comparaison ?
Disons que les images de l’Ouest américain sont souvent horizontales et que celles des rues de Rome sont souvent verticales ! et que m’imprègne aussi très fortement l’œuvre romaine de Corot, auquel je pense si souvent là-bas… Corot qui m’a marqué définitivement par sa sobriété.
Les années passeront, jusqu’au retour en Europe, et je suis dorénavant sous l’influence très forte du mouvement de peinture appelé ‘La Scuola Romana’ (Mafai, Scipione, Pirandello, Antonietta Raphael, Afro) : des merveilles qui m’inspirent beaucoup.
Nombreuses visites : Rome m’attire sans arrêt, j’y vais presque chaque année et je photographie en désordre, surtout rien de systématique ni d’organisé ! Quartier par quartier, n’écoutant que mon instinct et surtout ma passion : je suis amoureux fou de cette ville et, en même temps, de toutes les petites îles italiennes ou je vais aussi le plus souvent possible ! » B.P.

Parution
15/10/2019
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
200 x 290
Français
Broché avec rabats
340 photographies en bichromie
320 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-483-1
Il a été tiré 30 exemplaires de tête numérotés, accompagnés d’un tirage argentique baryté* au format 18 x 24 cm, numérotés et signés par Bernard Plossu. Tirage réalisé par Guillaume Geneste, laboratoire la Chambre Noire, Paris. L'ensemble est rassemblé dans un coffret. (Livraison à partir du 1er novembre 2019) * Deux photographies différentes tirées chacune à quinze exemplaires.
  • Roma
    Photo #1
  • Roma
    Photo #2

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Bernard Plossu, né au Sud-Vietnam en 1945, il a grandi entouré des photographies de désert prises par son père lorsqu’il partit faire du ski sur les dunes du Sahara en 1937 avec Roger Frison-Roche. Pudeur, sensualité, émotion, gaieté, voici quelle est la « sève » qui irrigue déjà les images de cet autodidacte qui débarque au Mexique en 1965 et 1967 pour y rejoindre ses grands-parents. Un Voyage mexicain que publiera 15 ans plus tard son  éditeur Claude Nori. Un livre qui, selon le créateur des Éd. Contrejour, est devenu une sorte de « bible pour toute une génération » soudain désinhibée par sa liberté de ton et sa vision intime et poétique.

Alain Bergala Cinéaste, essayiste, critique aux Cahiers du cinéma, enseignant à l’Université Paris III, La fémis, commissaire d’expositions, il est l’auteur de nombreux ouvrages sur Roberto Rossellini, Abbas Kiarostami et Jean-Luc Godard. Réalisateur de fictions et de documentaires, on lui doit notamment Faux Fuyants (1982), Cesare Pavese (1995) et Fernand Léger, les motifs d’une vie (1997).

Patrick Talbot est un ancien élève de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure dont il est sorti agrégé d’histoire puis titulaire d’un DEA sur le Mexique précolombien. Il a été conseiller culturel auprès des Ambassades de France aux Etats-Unis puis en Italie et directeur de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieur de la photo d’Arles.