This book brings together two visions, two looks, two sensibilities on this notion, almost a genre, of “Glamor”.
Book with four hands with Dominique Païni for the text and Bernard Plossu for the images. What links this assemblage, this duality is the cinema, because the word Glamor finds all its resonance there. The opening text, once luxuriously edited and graciously offered to the guests of the Cannes Film Festival in 2012 on the occasion of the 65th anniversary, was accompanied by photographs of movie stars.
The second text as stated by D. Païni The friendly and aesthetic closeness that I have maintained for many years with Bernard Plossu immediately gave me the idea to make him illustrate this “remake” was written for this book four years more Later.

Released
14/03/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 230
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
35 photos duotone
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-408-4
Press review
Special edition* prints accompanied by a photographic print signed by Bernard Plossu.

* Possible choice between two photographs, each drawn at 25 copies: silver prints on baryta paper 18 x 24 cm.
  • Glamour
    Photo #1
  • Glamour
    Photo #2

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Plossu Bernard, born in South Vietnam in 1945, he grew up surrounded by photographs of the desert taken by his father when he went skiing on the dunes of the Sahara in 1937 with Roger Frisian-Roche. Modesty, sensuality, emotion, joy, here is what is the “sap” that already permeate the images of the self that landed in Mexico in 1965 and 1967 to join his grandparents. Travel as a Mexican issue 15 years later its editor Claude Nori. A book that, as the creator of Ed. Contrejour has become a sort of bible for a generation suddenly uninhibited by his freedom of tone and its intimate and poetic vision.

Dominique Païni

Auteur, Commissaire

Director of the Cinémathèque française from 1991 to 2000, and since then responsible for the multidisciplinary projects of the Center Georges Pompidou. Defends the cinema of authors like: Jean-Marie Straub, Michael Snow as well as Rossellini or Godard, it reaffirms that the invention of the cinema is a matter of author and artist. He affirms, more firmly than in his previous book, Le cinéma, a modern art, an approach to cinema based on figurative motives (idle, sculpted, frozen …), draws a first assessment of the experience of his Exhibition Hitchcock and art, and comments on contemporary attempts to move the cinema from its traditional site, from the room to the museum’s rails.

Cet ouvrage rassemble deux visions, deux regards, deux sensibilités sur cette notion, presque un genre, du « Glamour ».

Livre à quatre mains avec Dominique Païni pour le texte et Bernard Plossu pour les images. Ce qui lie cet assemblage, cette dualité c’est le cinéma, car le mot Glamour y trouve toute sa résonance. Le texte d’ouverture une première fois luxueusement édité et gracieusement offert aux invités du Festival de Cannes en 2012 à l’occasion du 65e anniversaire était accompagné de photographies de stars du cinéma.
Le second texte comme le précise D. Païni La proximité amicale et esthétique que j’entretiens depuis de nombreuses années avec Bernard Plossu m’a immédiatement donné l’idée de lui faire illustrer ce « remake » a été écrit pour ce livre quatre ans plus tard.

Parution
14/03/2017
Collection
Hors Collection
Format
165 x 230
Français
Relié couverture cartonnée
35 photographies en bichromie
80 pages
ISBN : 978-2-35046-408-4
Tirage de tête* numérotés accompagnés d’un tirage photographique signé par Bernard Plossu. * Choix possible entre deux photographies, chacune tirée à 25 exemplaires : tirages argentiques sur papier baryté 18 x 24 cm.
  • Glamour
    Photo #1
  • Glamour
    Photo #2

Bernard Plossu

Photographe

Bernard Plossu, né au Sud-Vietnam en 1945, il a grandi entouré des photographies de désert prises par son père lorsqu’il partit faire du ski sur les dunes du Sahara en 1937 avec Roger Frison-Roche. Pudeur, sensualité, émotion, gaieté, voici quelle est la « sève » qui irrigue déjà les images de cet autodidacte qui débarque au Mexique en 1965 et 1967 pour y rejoindre ses grands-parents. Un Voyage mexicain que publiera 15 ans plus tard son  éditeur Claude Nori. Un livre qui, selon le créateur des Éd. Contrejour, est devenu une sorte de « bible pour toute une génération » soudain désinhibée par sa liberté de ton et sa vision intime et poétique.

Dominique Païni

Auteur, Commissaire

Directeur de la Cinémathèque française de 1991 à 2000, et depuis lors responsable des projets pluridisciplinaires du Centre Georges Pompidou. Défend le cinéma d’auteurs comme: Jean-Marie Straub, Michael Snow aussi bien que Rossellini ou Godard, il réaffirme que l’invention du cinéma est une affaire d’auteur et d’artiste. Il affirme, plus fermement que dans son précédent livre, Le cinéma, un art moderne, une approche du cinéma selon des motifs figuraux (le ralenti, le sculpté, le figé…), tire un premier bilan de l’expérience de son exposition Hitchcock et l’art, et commente les tentatives contemporaines de sortir le cinéma de son site traditionnel, de la salle aux cimaises du musée.